Bright Thankful Flowers

Bright Thankful Flowers

I think this may be one of my favourite cards that I’ve made lately. It’s one of those ones that I had the idea first and looked for challenges that would fit it well second. Maybe that’s why it only has two challenges. For this card I went with the layout from My Favorite Things and am also including Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s anything goes challenge.

I started by preparing a panel of white card. I left it larger than I would need so that I could have a bit of choice regarding which part I used. I then took my Heyda Flowers stamp set and started creating my pattern. I tried to be fairly random but also pay attention to keeping odd numbers, and making a rough triangle between each type (e.g. each of the large red flowers form a triangle in comparison to each other.)

I didn’t plan my colours in advance. I knew I wanted red and yellow, and I decided I wanted silver for the dandelions (if that is what it is). For the other flowers I just picked colours that seemed like they would work well with those I’d used so far. Once I was finished with the flowers I decided to add a few sprigs of greenery. I’ve I’d planned ahead I probably would have stamped them first, because as it turned out I was only able to bring them in on the edges.

With all the stamping done I set it aside to make sure it was completely dry whilst I worked on the rest of the card. I decided on gold paper for the strips on either side of the card. I then chose black card for my sentiment and, to tie in the gold strips, chose to stamp the sentiment in gold. Luckily I used my MISTI because despite thinking I would do it in gold I stamped first in silver… I then stamped over it in gold and it all worked out!

Finally I needed to assemble the card. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to attach the gold strips which gave me time to slide them properly into place. I trimmed the stamped panel down to the size I wanted and attached that with the same liquid glue. Finally I used my tape runner to attach the sentiment strip.

Bright Thankful Flowers 2I’m really pleased with how this worked out! I think all the elements came together beautifully and created a truly lovely card. I’m proud of it. I think I will be giving this one to my ‘host’ once I am able to move on from my temporary home to our new flat. Hopefully she likes it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Bright Thankful Flowers

  1. I’m a bit late in my commenting, and I apologize. This is so bright and cheery!! Thank you for playing a long with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

