Playing In The Moonlight

Playing In The MoonlightBeing home at the weekend meant I didn’t have a chance to work on cards, so both the ones I am sharing with you this evening were made after I got home from work (but planned in advance!) By the time I was done the light wasn’t great, so I apologise for the quality of the photos!

Anyway, this first card was a fun one to put together, and I am entering it to a fair few challenges.  The idea initially came from a combination of Double D Challenges‘ down on the farm theme alongisde DRS Designs‘ by the light of the moon. Knowing what stamps I wanted to use I had to include Sweet Stampin‘s cute and cuddly challenge. I tied in Daring Cardmakers‘ challenge to be inspired by the song What a Wonderful World (I took the line “the dark sacred night”) Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s stamp it challenge was another obvious choice to include.

I started by creating my background. I masked off a large circle area on some water-colour paper and worked on adding layers of watercolour. I started with an all over wash of dark blue, then went over it with black. Once those layers were dry I went back in adding streaks of the dark blue and also a dark purple before blending them out. I let it dry again and then splattered the panel with white paint to give the appearance of stars. I then removed the mask to reveal my lovely, enormous(!) white moon.

Next I stamped my little characters onto another piece of white paper. These little cuties come from a new-to-me stamp set which is Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums. I stamped them with My Favorite Things’ Black Licorice hybrid ink. This ink is also a new acquisition. It is waterproof, which meant I could watercolour the animals! I used my watercolour pencils to colour them in, trying to take notice of where they would be in relation to the moon so that I could get the shading right. Once I was happy with it I went over with a slightly wet brush to blend the colours fully. I even added semi circles of a very pale blue to the eyes, to give a bit of dimension.

I then fussy cut the dog and cow, as I don’t have the coordinating dies. I would usually fussy cut right to the line, but with the cow’s tail and earring I realised this would be difficult. So instead I left a white border around them. At this point I added some sparkle, with Wink of Stella, to the eyes of the animals and all over the moon.

For the sentiment panel I cut another strip of the watercolour paper and stamped one of the sentiments from the Chubby Chums stamp set again using the MFT ink.

Finally I assembled the card. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue for all the components. First I attached the sentiment panel to the background, then I added the little animals as if they are just standing on the top of it.

Playing In The Moonlight 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out. It’s not the most intricate of scenes. I’m not entirely sure it counts as a true scene actually… But I like it. These stamps are adorable (and yes, there’s a cat one!) and I’m sure I will be getting a lot of use out of them!

Love,

Lady Joyful

19 thoughts on “Playing In The Moonlight

  1. Pingback: Three Wise Owls | The Joyful Soul Creates

  2. This is such a cute CAS card – it really made me smile. I love it! This is just perfect for our ‘cute & cuddly’ challenge this week. Thank you for sharing and joining in with the fun at Sweet Stampin’ this week and good luck. Hugs Janine xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

