Three Wise Owls

Three Wise OwlsHere’s a fun card I made today. It’s was inspired by the current challenge at Inspired By All The Little Things and I combined it with the sketch from TGIF Challenges. I’m also entering it to Addicted to Stamps and More‘s anything goes challenge.

Of course the first thing that jumped out at me from the inspiration image was the bold black and white stripes. I also picked up on the soft peachy pink of the cushion on the chair, and the golden colour on the table. In a roundabout way I was inspired by the books, because books – wisdom – owls. At least… that was my thought process! Sometimes even I don’t follow my thought processes…

I started with my adorable owls which are from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums. I stamped it out three times and coloured it with my watercolour pencils. I didn’t bother shading because I was lazy… Ha! Okay, because I knew I had limited time, and they aren’t in a scene anyway so I figured just basic colouring would be fine. Even so I did give them a kind of ombre look so that they wouldn’t be too boring.

Whilst the little owls dried I started on the background. I used my Marabu chevron stencil and sponged on black paint to get the bold stripes. I set that aside to dry and trimmed down my gold paper for the backing strip. Actually this was not the paper I wanted to use… I apparently didn’t have any of the mirrored gold card in my snippets folder. I guess it is all back at home! Luckily I had this other gold card which worked out nicely. I then fussy cut my owls.

Three Wise Owls 2Finally it was time for assembly. I just quickly used my tape runner to adhere the gold strip down, and then again for the owls. I placed the middle one ever so slightly higher than the other two for a bit of interest.

Three Wise Owls 3I’m pretty happy with how this turned out! It’s almost exactly how I imagined, and I think it is a fun response to the sketch and the inspiration image.

Love,

Lady Joyful

21 thoughts on “Three Wise Owls

  1. Fabulous card! Those owls are just the cutest and look fabulous with the chevron background. I love seeing how you were inspired by the challenge photo at Inspired By.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is cute! Love the black chevron background and the gold strip – but those cute little owls steal the show πŸ™‚ Glad to have you joining the fun at TGIF this week! Hope to have you playing along again soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

