Peek-Through Butterfly

Peek-Through ButterflyI spent most of the weekend mulling over this card. I had die cut the butterflies before I went home for the weekend, and spent quite a bit of time just thinking about what I would do with them.

My primary source of inspiration was of course the Butterfly Challenge prompt L is for lavender and letters, with TGIF‘s negative space challenge being another strong inspiration. I’m also entering it to Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s CAS challenge, and Addicted to Stamps and More‘s anything goes challenge.

As I said, I started by cutting some butterflies from a snippet of lavender card stock. I used the Sizzix Winged Beauty dies for this. I decided to only use the largest of the butterflies, and have set the others aside for a future project.

I wanted the butterfly to be coming through a heart so I took my Sizzix hearts framelits and worked out which one would be the best size before cutting that from the card front.

I felt like the butterfly didn’t have enough depth of colour. In order to fix that I used a sponge and some Seedless Preserves Distress ink to add a bit of texture.

Next I set to work on my sentiment. I did start by stamping the letters directly onto the card base, but they ended up a bit wonky. I decided instead to add a banner of the same lavender card stock. First I stamped the sentiment using Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs stamps. I then positioned the little banner die from the Carta Bella Forever Die Set over one end of the sentiment and partially cut it. I extended the cut lines along the length of the sentiment and then used partial cutting again to get the banner edges on the other end.

I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to adhere the banner in place. I then put the same glue down the body of the butterfly and pressed it into place through the heart, so that it is adhered onto the inside of the card and comes through to the front.

I gave the card plenty of time to dry before testing the card to see if it actually worked how I wanted without just pulling the butterfly off. And it works! The butterfly slips through the heart as the card is opened to be a decorative element on the inside. Closing the card again is not too tricky, just a case of lifting the wings up and tucking them back through the heart.

Peek-Through Butterfly 2I’m pretty pleased with how this card turned out. I really like the idea of the butterfly coming through the window to the front of the card and I’m so glad that it actually worked!

Love,

Lady Joyful

15 thoughts on “Peek-Through Butterfly

  1. Pingback: Pop-Up Butterfly Thanks | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

