Red Diamonds

Red DiamondsI’ve been meaning to work on new address cards for a few weeks now. So far I have two made… And this is one of them! The move is next Friday, so I really need to get on with it! Anyway… Two challenges went into the making of this very simple card. The layout is from Seven Hills Crafts, and the diamonds theme comes from Less Is More.

I started by folding a piece of white card in half to make a small card base. The original piece of card was about the size of a normal card front, so the final card is half that size.

Next I measured and calculated to work out where to draw my guidelines for getting everything positioned correctly. This was probably the most difficult part of the card because I kept confusing myself with the numbers!

Next I put the card base into my MISTI and got ready to stamp. All the stamps I used are from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home. I started at the top positioning the first two diamonds as well as the sentiment. I decided to stamp the diamonds with red pigment ink, and the sentiment with MFT Black Licorice hybrid ink. Once I’d stamped the first ones I just had to keep moving the diamonds and restamping until they were all done.

Pigment ink takes quite a while to dry so I set it aside before erasing my lines. Of course I managed to smudge the ink anyway… Luckily it barely shows.

Red Diamonds 2If I was going to remake this card (which I may end up doing, seeing as I need to make a whole bunch of new address cards!) I would probably not do the pencil lines on the card base. As I used my MISTI I could have just used some scratch paper for the guide which would have allowed me to get everything correctly positioned without any lines to remove.

Love,

Lady Joyful

12 thoughts on “Red Diamonds

Leave a Reply

