Thank You Leaves

Thank You LeavesThe second card of the day (and I’ll try to be quick as I still have my Thought-of-the-Day to write and I need to be getting to bed before long!) is an autumnal one. It’s a response to the layout from CAS(E) This Sketch, as well as the autumn themed challenges from both Pink and Main, and Pile It On.

I started by die cutting a bunch of leaves using autumnal colours. I wasn’t entirely sure how the design would end up so I erred on the side of too many rather than too few. In the end I decided to have two of each style of leaf. I felt they looked a bit plain and decided to add some detail to them. For each leaf I picked a pencil that was almost the same colour in order for my lines to be subtle. I added veins to the leaves trying to make them as natural as possible.

Next I made my circle for the centre. I decided on yellow as that is another autumnal colour but not one I had yet used in the card. I chose a sentiment from the Technique Tuesday I Made This stamp set and stamped that in the centre of the circle using my go to ink – MFT’s Black Licorice hybrid ink. I also edged the circle with gold pigment ink to add some definition.

After some playing I settled on my final layout and started adhering everything in place. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue for the leaves. I wanted a bit more volume for the sentiment panel. You might be aware that I have a lack of foam tape at the moment. Well I found a piece of yellow foam paper/card and used the next smallest circle die to cut some of that to adhere behind my sentiment circle to add just a little bit of volume. I then adhered it over my leaves.

I did consider trimming the leaves so that they don’t overhand the card but I liked the way it looked. And as it fits in the envelope anyway (yes, I checked!) I figured it didn’t matter. It’s my card, so I can do what I want anyway..! Ha.

Thank You Leaves 2I’m quite pleased with how this turned out. I realised I was perhaps a bit creative in my interpretation of the sketch, but this is the idea that came to me. I hope it is suitable enough!

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Thank You Leaves

Leave a Reply

