Chevron Elephant

Chevron ElephantThis card is a response to just one challenge – the current challenge from Daring Cardmakers. The challenge is to make a card inspired by the work of another card maker. And when I was looking through my Reader recently and spotted this postΒ I knew I had to recreate Paper Puff’s lovely card!

PaperPuff's inspiring card!
PaperPuff’s inspiring card!

I went for a relatively faithful reproduction. I used my chevron template and sponged over it with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink to create the background.

I then stamped my little elephant onto grey card stock and fussy cut him. I cut away the little platform he stands on because I didn’t want it. I also cut the tail away because it is not possibly to cut it out! I then restamped his hat onto some orange card that I had added the same distress ink too and fussy cut the hat which I glued on to the elephant.

I stamped the sentiment with MFT Black Licorice hybrid ink onto white card and fussy cut it.

Assembly was very straight forward. I worked out exactly where I wanted to position the elements and stamped the elephant onto the card base so that his tail would be there. I then used Tombow Multi Mono liquid glue to stick the elephant down, and attached the sentiment on foam pads. I wanted to embellish the hat with a little pompom but I don’t seem to have them with me – they must be packed up in a box!

Chevron Elephant 2I’m happy with how my card turned out. Whilst it’s very easy to see where the inspiration came from I think (hope!) I did also manage to make it my own. I personally feel that, whilst similar, the two cards have different looks to them. I hope PaperPuff likes my interpretation of the lovely card!

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Chevron Elephant

Leave a Reply

