Birthday Bird

Birthday BirdI made a card! Yay! I still don’t really have space for crafting at the moment so it was a bit more challenging than I’d planned, but I got there in the end. This card is a response to four challenges. The layout comes from My Favorite Things’ Sketch Challenge. Addicted To Stamps And More requestedย a CAS card whilst Mod Squad asked for birds. Seize The Birthday asked for anything, so long as it is birthday related!

I started by creating my ring using two sizes of circle dies with some brown cardstock. I wanted brown because I was imagining it being kind of like a wooden ring that the bird is sitting on.

Next I did the strip/rectangle section of the sketch. I decided to do that as vegetation because it felt in keeping with the idea I had for the card. I used four of the stamps from the Heyda Flowers stamp set, and stamped them in a variety of greens and browns. I had masked off the area for the stamping but the bottom edge didn’t end up cleanly for some reason…

Next I stamped my bird, which is from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus. I used MFT Black Licorice hybrid ink. I then coloured it in with brown and red watercolour pencils.

Whilst the bird dried I stamped on my sentiment using the same MFT ink. I fussy cut the bird and decided to cut its leg away completely as it is sitting not standing. I then attached my ring and bird to the card front using Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue.

Birthday Bird 2I’m pretty happy with how this turned out all things considered. The sentiment is not centred properly though, which is a bit frustrating! It was nice to be making a card again though.

Love,

Lady Joyful

8 thoughts on “Birthday Bird

  1. Considering that you really didn’t have room for doing crafts, this card is amazing. And, you manages to fit it into four challenges. Your bird as the center focal image with the foliage in the background is very nice. Love the bold sentiment on the bottom. Thanks for joining us at the Mod Squad this week.
    Barbara, Mod Squad Host

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a pretty card! The stamped foliage and colored in green and browns look awesome! The bird is beautiful!
    Thanks so much for joining us in the challenge at Seize the Birthday!
    Sherrie K
    Guest Designer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

