Hey Chickie

Hey ChickieWhen I saw that Cupcake Inspirations‘ challenge was to make a baby card I thought I would have to skip it. I couldn’t think of any stamps or dies that would be appropriate. But then I flicked through my stamps and found this little chick! I decided to use it on a card with the current layout from Freshly Made Sketches, and I am also including Pixie’s Snippets Playground as my final challenge.

I started by looking through my papers to see if I had anything suitable for my baby themed card. I found a couple of different options but couldn’t decide at that point.

I moved on to my chick, from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums. I used MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink to stamp it onto a snippet of white card stock which I’d salvaged from an old art book. I then used my watercolour pencils to colour it in. I went with shades of yellow and orange, aiming for a relatively realistic look. I also added half moons of very pale blue in the eyes to help them stand out more. Once I was happy with all the shading I used some water to activate and blend the colours.

Whilst the chick dried I went back to my paper selections and decided on the green and blue patterned paper. I then started looking for papers to go with it. I found the pale blue that seemed a good match.

I knew I wanted to use the patterned paper as the front most panel, which meant the blue would be going behind it. I decided to run it through an embossing folder for a bit of added interest. The one I used was the lattice from the Butterfly Lattice Set which is a Sizzix Textured Impressions.

I wanted a green shade for my banner. None of the ones I had seemed to be quite right though. I eventually settled on the blue-green colour you can see.

Once I had all of my elements cut to size I decided to start adhering them in place on my card front. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue for all the papers except the banner, for which I used my tape runner. I then put the card into my MISTI in order to stamp the sentiment which also comes from the Chubby Chums set.

Hey Chickie 2

I’m really happy with how this card turned out. It is certainly cute enough for a new baby card! I see this as a card for a baby boy, which is amusing as I’d started with the plan of making a card for a baby girl. When I had decided to use the chick it just seemed like it would be ideal for a baby girl. But once I’d chosen my papers that changed. Of course it could still be used for a little girl!

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Hey Chickie

  1. Great card Charlotte – love the little chick and it’s a great layout. How fabulous the Misti is for being able to safely stamp sentiments right at the end as well.

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

