Happy Puuurday

Happy Puuurday

I really adore this card if I do say so myself, and I had a lot of fun putting it together! I’m entering it into three challenges – firstly the current Muse challenge (and can I just take a moment to say how cute that sheep is! I really need that stamp set…), along with Sweet Stampin‘s birthday challenge and Paru’s Card Making Challenges‘ challenge to make a card for a child.

Jenni Murray’s inspiration card for Muse Challenge #193

Seriously, isn’t Jenni’s card fabulous?! I adore it. (Sheep are one of my favourite animals, for those of you who don’t know!)

Anyway, let’s talk about my card. I started by finding a snippet of green paper and ran it through my Big Shot with the Tall Grass border embossing folder from the Springtime Background & Borders Set by Tim Holtz. I then used my craft knife to cut away the extra paper so I only had the grass. If I had a grass die that would have been easier, but I don’t so I made do!

Next I stamped and coloured my kitty. He’s from The Greeting Farm’s Purfect Cats set. I used watercolour pencils and blended it out with Wink of Stella for a bit of added shimmer. I then cut him out with the coordinating die.

Jenni’s card has some nice pops of colour by adding flowers to the grass. I had a look through my stamps and dies to see if I had anything suitable for making flowers but I couldn’t find anything. Then I realised I could just use some of the leftover cat accessories I had from when I made my Christmas Cat Shaker. I played around with laying them in the grass until I was happy with the number and composition.

Next I added my sentiment stamping it with red pigment ink. It’s actually one and a half sentiments as I wanted to have it top and bottom of the image, as in the Muse card.

Finally I just had to stick everything together. I used my Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue as it meant I could have a little of wiggle time to get everything into place.

Happy Puuurday 2

I’m really happy with how this turned out. I think it works well as an interpretation of the Muse card, and it was great to be able to use some of the leftovers from my other card to finish it off. I love how it looks like the cat is about to pounce on the little mouse! Definitely very happy with how it all came together.

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Happy Puuurday

  1. Such a cute card, I love your fabulous layout. This is just purrfect for our ‘birthday’ challenge this week. Thank you for sharing and joining in with the fun at Sweet Stampin’ this week and good luck. Hugs Janine xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

