Owl I Want For Christmas

Owl I Want For Christmas

The first card I have to share with you today is a Christmas card. I’ll be entering it to three challenges – Freshly Made Sketches‘ sketch challenge, Mod Squad‘s “sparkle it up”, and Addicted to Stamps and More‘s anything goes challenge.

As soon as I saw the sketch I knew I wanted to use the wreath stamp from Pink and Main’s hOWLidays stamp set which I recently acquired. I decided I would keep it very simple, so lined up the wreath and one of the sentiments on my card base before stamping them with my MISTI. I used MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink as I knew I wanted to use my watercolour pencils.

Once everything was stamped out I got started on my colouring. I used a few different shades of green in the wreath to add a little texture and dimension. I put more of my time into colouring the owl and bow though, as I wanted them to really stand out. The bow took quite a long time but I’m really pleased with how it turned out! Once I’d done all my colouring I used my clear Wink of Stella to blend it all out. Doing this allowed me to blend the colours smoothly, not over saturate the paper (which is not watercolour paper) and also add a healthy amount of shimmer to the card! As a final touch I added Glossy Accents to the eyes, which gives them some more dimension as well as a bit more shine.

Owl I Want For Christmas 2This was a fairly straightforward card to make! It turned out pretty much exactly how I’d imagined, and I’m really happy with it. I love all the shimmer and sparkle, though – dare I say it – I wonder if it might be just a little too much! In any case, I think it is a sweet CAS Christmas card, and hopefully the recipient will like it. I might make another one in the same style (perhaps using a different sentiment) as I do really like this! I still have nine more Christmas cards to make (assuming I counted correctly) and I need to start getting them sent off in the next week or so, which means I may have to revisit previous ideas in order to get everything done in time!

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Owl I Want For Christmas

Leave a Reply

