Layered Christmas Tree

Layered Christmas TreeAnother Christmas card, bringing me gradually closer to being done with all the ones I need for this year! The layout for this card comes from Mojo Monday and the colour scheme from TGIF. The tree theme is from both Alphabet Challenge Blog and City Crafter Challenge Blog. I’m entering it to the Christmas themed challenges from Moving Along With The Times, Perfectly Created Chaos, and Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge and Christmas Challenge Extra. Craftyhazlenut’s Patterned Paper requested the use of patterned paper, and Pile It On asked for two. And finally, for Simon Says Stamp Wednesday it’s anything goes.

I really wanted to make the tree the focal point of the card, so I started by having a look through my stamps for something suitable. My thinking was that I could put a tree on that little rectangular panel as shown in the sketch. After searching through though I really couldn’t find anything that seemed like it would work. So I decided I would instead adapt the sketch such that the rectangular panel is now a Christmas tree!

In order to make the tree I ran a snippet of dark olive-green cardstock through my Big Shot with the Sizzix Bigz Tattered Poinsettia.I then cut apart each of the leaves/petals and used them to build up my layered Christmas tree, with the biggest at the bottom working to the smallest at the top. Once I was happy with the configuration I used some post-it tape on the front to hold it together, then flipped it over and used liquid glue to adhere each section to the next.

Whilst the glue was drying I started thinking about my background. I knew I wanted to use two different patterned papers and I needed to try to include red and/or brown. Sticking with the tree theme seemed like a good idea, so the red pattern with the white trees seemed like a very good choice. As that paper and the tree itself are quite bold I decided I would use something a little more subtle for the other patterned paper. I picked out a white with gold stars that seemed to go nicely.

For the sentiment panel I found a piece of brown cardstock to tie in the last colour. I considered embossing the sentiment in silver but decided (after discussing with husband, who makes a wonderful sounding board!) that I didn’t want to add another colour to the mixture, so went with white instead. The sentiment I used comes from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages.

With all the components ready I assembled the card. I used tape runner to attach the two patterned papers to my card base, and to attach the sentiment strip on top of them. I then used liquid glue on the back of the Christmas tree and adhered that in place over the top, allowing it to slightly overlap the sentiment strip, which gave it some grounding.

As a final touch, bringing in a bit of sparkle and helping pull the red into focus, I added dots of red glitter glue across my Christmas tree as decoration.

Layered Christmas Tree 2

I’m very happy with how this turned out, especially given I wasn’t entirely sure what I’d end up with when I was going in to it. The tree came together very nicely and the patterned papers work well with it. The dots of glitter add a nice final embellishment.

Love,

Lady Joyful

32 thoughts on “Layered Christmas Tree

  1. Wow how gorgeous is your tree. The idea of cutting the poinsettia leaves is great and I haven’t heard of Post-it tape before. off to investigate that! Thanks so much for sharing with us at TGIF – Chlo xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

