Snowflake Tree

Snowflake Tree

Here’s another Christmas card. The layout for it is from Mojo Monday. The theme comes from three different challenges – The Paper Players asked for snowflakes as did CASual Fridays, with the addition of glitter, and Sweet Stampin’ wanted snow.

I started by making my background panel. I cut down some of my white glitter paper to create the two pieces and ran one through a lattice embossing folder to give it some texture. I then adhered the two panels to the card base, making sure they were completely lined up with each other so that there was no gap between them.

Next I got to work on my focal panel. I wanted to use a CASual Friday stamp, and as I currently only have the Calm and Loving set I decided I would use the bare tree from it. First I created the panel to stamp on – I cut down a piece of shimmery blue card stock and used my corner chomper to round the corners. Then I stamped the tree using licorice black hybrid ink from MFT.

The stamp set comes with a ‘cloud’ of hearts to stamp on as an impression of leaves. I decided to do something similar but with snow instead of hearts. (Actually I wonder if this stamp is meant to be little stars? I’m considering it to be snowflakes.) The stamp I used is from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages. I stamped it repeatedly and then heat embossed in white.

At this point I decided to adhere the blue panel into place. I used liquid glue but really I should probably have used my tape runner. The paper had warped slightly from the heating and didn’t want to stick, so I added more glue but that just made it go a bit soggy so now the panel looks wrinkly on the side where the dry embossing is… Oh well.

For the sentiment panel I decided (after some trial-and-error) to use a piece of black card which I covered with Wink of Stella to give some shimmer. I then heat embossed a snowflake from a generic set as well as the scripty sentiment which is from Pink & Main’s hOWLidays. Learning from my early mistake I made sure to use my tape runner to adhere the sentiment strip into place.

Snowflake Tree 2I’m relatively pleased with how this turned out. It is actually quite close to what I had in my mind going in to the project, I just can’t help but see all the places where things went wrong… That said I certainly learned from my mistakes and I’m sure that if I were to make it again the whole procedure would go a lot more smoothly.

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Snowflake Tree

Leave a Reply

