Candy Cane Owl

Candy Cane OwlThis owl Christmas card takes a lot of inspiration from the one I made yesterday. I’ve used the same layout from Mojo Monday, and I wanted to include the candy cane theme from Merry Monday. Given the traditional colour of candy canes, I decided to include Alphabet Challenge‘s challenge to use something red. I also knew that I would be using an owl stamp, so it made sense to include Sweet Stampin‘s animal theme. And as it is a Christmas card I of course included the holiday challenge from Addicted to Stamps and More, and the anything Christmas challenges from Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra and Perfectly Created Chaos.

I started by searching for some candy cane patterned paper I knew I had. The pad that the paper comes from has a regular and vellum version of each pattern as well as a coordinating solid coloured paper. I decided to use the vellum version of the pattern, and as it’s a very dark pattern I chose to leave the other back panel as the white of the card base. I trimmed my piece of vellum to size and set it aside.

Next I cut down a piece of white card stock to be my focal panel. I then stamped my owl and candy cane stamp from Pink and Main’s hOWLidays using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. Next I coloured it in using watercolour pencils and blending out with Wink of Stella to add some sparkle and shine. I then used my corner chomper to round the corners of the image panel.

I trimmed down a piece of the coordinating dark green card stock to make my sentiment strip. I then added the sentiment, from the same stamp set, which I heat embossed in white.

As any adhesive would show through the vellum I started my assembly by adhering it to the back of the image and sentiment panels. I could then hide the adhesive behind those to adhere the whole lot down to the card base.

Candy Cane Owl 2

I’m really pleased with how this turned out.  It all came together well, and given that I knew what I was doing (because I was basing it off yesterday’s card) it was very easy to do. I quite like the idea of making a set of three owl themed Christmas cards using this layout and the three stamps from the hOWLidays set.

Love,

Lady Joyful

24 thoughts on “Candy Cane Owl

Leave a Reply

