Scattered Snowflakes

Scattered SnowflakesOn to the third and final card. This one actually started out as being my response to Less is More’s outline challenge, but I wasn’t sure the snowflakes worked for it so I changed my plan and did the flower card for that instead. Even so, I ended up including quite a selection of challenges for this card. The mood board from Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s current challenge was a big point of inspiration, and I focused particularly on the image in the lower right. Simon Says Stamp Monday‘s challenge to include snow seemed a good fit to go with it, and I felt the snowflakes I decided to use fit well with City Crafter‘s challenge to use anything Christmassy that floats or flies. Double D Challenges asked for a white Christmas. Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas challenge was looking for grey or silver alongside the Christmas theme, and Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra along with Pile It On and AAA Cards just asked for Christmas.

Ice Inspiration Mood Board – Simon Says Stamp Wednesday

I began by stamping my sentiment, from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages, onto my card base a bit higher than the centre of the card. I then masked off the sentiment.

Next I prepared my card by dusting it with my anti-static powder tool before starting on stamping the snowflakes. I used a variety of snowflakes from various different stamp sets. I stamped the largest snowflake first before adding in smaller ones a few at a time. I added silver embossing powder after each stamping to make sure I could see where I still need to add snowflakes.

Once I was happy that there were enough snowflakes I carefully removed the mask from my sentiment then used my heat gun to melt the embossing powder.

Scattered Snowflakes 2

This is definitely a very simple card but I think it works very well. It came together exactly how I had been picturing in my head, which is always a nice thing to happen! If I were to make a change it would be to perhaps add another colour – maybe red or gold – just to help the card pop. But I quite like it how it is in any case.

Love,

Lady Joyful

29 thoughts on “Scattered Snowflakes

Leave a Reply

