Father Christmas

Father ChristmasHere’s a card I put together today. I used the layout from Freshly Made Sketches, the Santa theme from Sweet Stampin’, and I’m also entering this card to Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra which is anything Christmas.

I started by stamping out my Father Christmas onto a piece of white card using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. The stamp is from Art Impressions’ Merriest Christmas Set. I used my MISTI to double stamp it to ensure crisp lines. I then coloured it in with watercolour pencils, using the image that comes with the stamps as a guide to get the shading right, and blended the colour out with my smallest water brush. I added a sweep of grey and a little black as a shadow beneath the character to help ground him. I then trimmed the panel down.

Next I picked out my piece of patterned paper for the other panel of the layout. I decided on the red with white pattern as I felt it went well with the image I had already created. I trimmed it down to size and began assembling the card.

I used my tape runner to adhere the patterned paper panel in place. For the image panel I decided I wanted a bit of volume so would use foam tape. First I flattened out the image panel as it was a bit warped. I ran it through my Big Shot with some cutting plates that have never been used for cutting, and a couple of pieces of card for extra pressure. I ran it back and forth a few times until it was more or less completely flat. I then covered the back of the panel with foam tape and adhered it in place on the card front.

Father Christmas 2

I’m really happy with how this turned out. It is sweet and simple, and clearly Christmassy! I did consider adding a sentiment but in the end I decided against it because it would have to overlap the coloured image slightly, and I really wanted Father Christmas to be the focal point.

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Father Christmas

Leave a Reply

