Floral Wishes in Purple and Blue

Floral Wishes in Purple and BlueI was lucky enough to have a late start today (my first day back at work after being ill!) which meant I had time to put this card together before I had to leave. Actually it took almost exactly the amount of time I had available – leaving me a couple of minutes to tidy my supplies before I had to get ready to go!

My main source of inspiration for this card was Allsorts Challenge Blog‘s blue bingo challenge. I chose to do the bottom line of the bingo square, as shown below. I decided to combine this with the sketch challenge from My Favorite Things, as well as Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s anything goes challenge.

I started with my focal panel. I used stamps from Altenew’s Brush Art Floral set. I first stamped the largest flower, in the foreground, with purple ink, then used some of the accessory stamps to add highlights in a different shade of purple. Next I stamped the other two flowers using blue ink and again using the “swoosh” stamps to add texture with a different shade of blue. I masked off my large flower so that I could add in my green stems.

Next I made the banner to go behind the focal panel. I used a piece of dark blue paper which I trimmed to size before running through my Big Shot with a wood grain embossing folder.

I decided I would add my sentiment on the smaller banner, which does make it bigger than the one in the provided sketch but I decided I liked it that way. I took a piece of pale purple paper and stamped the sentiment, from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel using the same dark blue ink as I had added to the blue flowers.

I assembled the card by using my tape runner to adhere the dry embossed banner to the card base. I then adhered the purple banner to the focal panel and used foam tape behind the focal panel and ends of the purple banner to give them volume.

Floral Wishes in Purple and Blue 2

I’m very pleased with how this turned out. I think the colours came together nicely and the different textures and layers work well. I feel like I ought to have done more masking than I did as it was only a very small amount in the end. Also I’m not sure I like how the angle of the left stem turned out… Though it’s mostly hidden behind the banner so I guess it doesn’t matter! I’m glad I chose dark blue rather than black for the sentiment as I think it softens the wording somewhat.

Love,

Lady Joyful

8 thoughts on “Floral Wishes in Purple and Blue

Leave a Reply

