Cat and Mouse

Cat and Mouse

This cute cat card is made from a whole lot of snippets! I’m entering this to four challenges – the sparkle challenge at Farm Fresh, My Favorite Things‘ sketch challenge, Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge, and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s anything goes.

As you can see, I ended up flipping the sketch around and leaving out the smaller banner.

As I wanted to enter the Farm Fresh challenge with this card I knew I would be using stamps from the Purfect Cats stamp set, as it is currently the only set I have from The Greeting Farm. I already had the mouse left over from a previous creation. I stamped the fluffiest of the three cats onto a snippet of white card using MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I then coloured it in with grey watercolour pencil, concentrating the colour around the edges. I only used a very small amount of colour as I wanted my cat to be a very light grey. I then used my Wink of Stella to blend out the colour and add a nice touch of sparkle. (It is very sparkly – unfortunately the picture doesn’t show it very well!)

Initially I was just going to have a white background panel for my cat and mouse but I decided I wanted something more substantial, especially as the kitty is so pale. I found the snippet of paw patterned black paper and thought I could use that as the “floor”. I considered having the red polka dot paper for the other portion of my panel but that seemed overpowering. Instead I settled on a piece of white card which I embossed with a woodgrain embossing folder. I then used the polka dot pattern paper to make my background banner.

I toyed with the idea of adding the second smaller banner as in the sketch, but eventually decided to leave it off. I also considered adding a sentiment but, again, decided against it.

Assembly was very straight forward. I used my tape runner to attach the paw paper to the embossed paper, then used liquid glue to adhere the cat and mouse on top of those. I also used liquid glue to adhere the banner to the focal panel and then used my tape runner to attach the whole thing to the card base.

Cat and Mouse 2Considering this was thrown together with only half an idea of where I was going with it, I am very happy with how it turned out. The colours work nicely together, and the cat looks just like it is about to try and pounce on the poor mouse! The sparkle on the cat is really lovely in real life, just a shame it didn’t come out so well in the picture!

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Cat and Mouse

Leave a Reply

