Celebrate in Gold

Celebrate in Gold

Here’s my final card of the year, and it’s a shiny mix of gold and silver with a bit of black thrown in for good measure. Five challenges went into the creation of this card. Double D Challenges asked for silver and gold which seemed a good choice to go with the inspiration image from Inkspirational. Likewise Simon Says Stamp Monday‘s party theme tied in well with CAS-ual Friday‘s celebrations. The fifth challenge I’m entering it to is Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s anything goes challenge.

Though I’m not entering this card into it, I did end up using the sketch from the current Freshly Made Sketches challenge. It fit well with the idea I had in my head so I decided to go for it!

I started by cutting down a snippet of black card stock. I then took the “party!” stamp from the Sinooperi Birthday/Party Time stamp set and stamped it repeatedly across the card, heat embossing it in gold.

Next I created my focal panel. I trimmed a square of white card and stamped it with a sentiment from Altenew’s Super Script. This time I heat embossed in silver. I then wrapped the edges of the panel with some gold striped washi tape. I kept adding washi tape trying to get it to look right, then wasn’t at all happy and removed most of it again!

I used my tape runner on the back of the black panel and carefully pressed it into place on the card base. I then used foam tape on the back of the focal panel to give it a bit of dimension. When I added the focal panel I made sure to position it such that some of the writing on the black panel would still be legible.

Celebrate in Gold 2I like how this card turned out. Initially I wasn’t sure. I had the idea in my head with the washi tape but it just didn’t seem to be going the way I wanted. But it is growing on me! The colours came together really well for an elegant look. I like that it could work as a New Year’s card or a birthday card – or even some other party occasion! Versatility is certainly a good thing.

Love,

Lady Joyful

16 thoughts on “Celebrate in Gold

  1. This is such a beautiful card! The layout with the silver and gold is just perfect! Thanks for sharing with us at Double “D” Challenge.
    Amelia (DT Double “D” Challenges)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful design and take on the sketch. Thanks for sharing your design with us at Double D Challenge Blog. We hope to see your creations in future challenges.
    Kathy DD DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

