Watercolour Balloon

Watercolour BalloonThis card was put together in a bit of a rush. Today’s schedule went totally out of the window and I ended up having to make this quite last minute. There are bits of it I like and bits I don’t.

I started by making my card base using a piece of kraft card. I then picked out some dark blue paper to make the panel to go on top of the card base. I ran the blue paper through my Big Shot with the lattice folder from the Butterfly Lattice Set.

Next I hunted through my ribbons to find a suitable one to use. I found the shiny red ribbon and decided to go with that. As my card base is side fold I cut a small slit in the fold of the card to be able to slip my ribbon through. I adhered it in place on the inside of the card, and then used a second piece of ribbon to create my bow. I then adhered the embossed panel over the top of the ribbon.

Next I created my balloon. This is the bit I’m not so keen on… I stamped the balloon, from Panduro’s Balloon set, onto a snippet of watercolour paper using a very pale ink. I then used my watercolour pencils to add the colour and blended it out with my water brush. I added several layers of colour, drying in between each layer using my heat gun as I was in a bit of a hurry!

Once the balloon was completely ready I fussy cut it. Usually when I fussy cut things I cut them right at the lines, but the nature of this stamp (with the strings on the balloon) made that impossible, so I had to leave a small white border all the way around. It’s the white border that I don’t like. I think it would look a lot better without it… I adhered my fussy cut balloon onto the blue panel and the card was done.

Watercolour Balloon 2I really liked how this card looked until I added the balloon. Of course it needed something added, but like I said, the white edges on the balloon just look weird to me… I’m probably being too picky, but that’s how I feel. Perhaps it’s because the rest of the card doesn’t have any white?

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Global Design Project – CASE The Designer (I think it’s easy to see the elements I picked up on – balloon, ribbon, the layout and colour scheme… I changed things up a bit but it’s actually relatively true to the original.)

Moving Along With The Times – Something In The Air

Perfectly Created Chaos – Texture (from the embossing folder)

 

PS,Β If you’re looking for my photo-a-day series, it has now been moved over to The Joyful Soul. I do hope you’ll follow me there if you don’t already!

12 thoughts on “Watercolour Balloon

  1. Gorgeous. I love how you’ve reversed the base colours to create the sky for your balloon. Great idea. Thanks so much for joining in with the Global Design Project. I’m so honoured to have had you CASE my card this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are always our own worst critic. Once we see something it just glares at us. I actually think the balloon stands out against the navy having the white edging to it. Thankyou for entering the texture challenge at Perfectly Created Chaos. Hugs ValeryAnne (DT).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like the contrast of the softer colors of the balloon against the darker navy of the background. Another great entry into the Perfectly Created Chaos texture challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

