30th Butterflies

30th Butterflies

I’d been thinking about this card for several days without working out exactly what I wanted to do for it. I had a few rough ideas but really nothing definite. When I sat down to start making it I really wasn’t sure what I was going to do, but then an idea jumped out at me, and in the end it came together very easily!

I started by making the focal panel. I took the butterflies from Altenew’s Wild HibiscusΒ and stamped them in a somewhat random pattern over a rectangle of watercolour paper. I then heat embossed them with clear embossing powder.

Next I took my Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink and an ink blending tool, and begin blending ink onto my panel. This Distress Ink is actually orange, but by keeping my application quite light it stayed more yellow in tone. I kept the colour darkest at the bottom of the panel fading up to light at the top. Once I was happy with the blending I rubbed over the top of the embossing with some dry tissue to remove any ink that was on it.

Next I created my sentiment. I found a piece of black paper that was just long enough to fit my sentiment. I used Lawn Fawn’s Claire’s ABCs to make the sentiment and heat embossed it in silver. I then realised that the resulting banner was almost the exact same size across as the card base – it was ever so slightly smaller, to the point that it looked like I had been aiming for the same size and misjudged my cutting… So I decided to split the sentiment across two lines, which looked much better!

I put foam tape behind my focal panel to adhere it with a little volume. I then put foam tape on the very end of my banners where they would overhand the panel, and used my tape runner for the rest of the adhesive. Once it was all pressed into place the card was done.

30th Butterflies 2

I’m very happy with how this card turned out. The ink blending worked very nicely, and the simplicity of the card is quite striking. I did wonder if the butterflies were just too difficult to see, but I actually like how subtle the effect is.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies and Z is for Zero and/or Zucchini (I went to the yellow end of the zucchini colour scale, and of course my zero is in the 30)

Less Is More – Ombre

My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

PS,Β If you’re looking for my photo-a-day series, it has now been moved over to The Joyful Soul. I do hope you’ll follow me there if you don’t already!

19 thoughts on “30th Butterflies

  1. A lovely subtle use of the ombre technique here and so delicate against the butterflies. A stunning CAS design and thanks for playing along with us at Less is More this week. Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

