Dream Shaker

Dream ShakerThis card is based on an idea I had ages ago but hadn’t got around to putting together. Whilst I was having a card making session at the weekend I decided it was about time I made it. I did actually end up going slightly away from my original plan, but it’s still very similar to what I’d had in mind.

The galaxy background is one I made a couple of months ago. I cut out a piece of it with the snow globe die from the aptly named Snow Globe Dies by Pink and Main. I then used the same die to cut a window from a snippet of black card that I had cut down to the size I wanted.ย Using the window in the black piece as a guide I adhered my galaxy background to the card base. I then cut a piece of acetate to glue onto the back of the black piece covering the aperture.

Next I covered the back of the black piece with foam tape to give it dimension. First I put it all around the window, making sure there were no gaps that would let my stars escape. I then put foam tape over the rest of the panel so that it would adhere evenly.

Using my glue pen I added some little dots of glue to my galaxy background and adhered a few little gold stars in place. I then poured some more stars onto the galaxy and, after removing the backing papers from the foam tape, I pressed the black panel into place which completed the shaker element.

I still wanted to add some extra elements to the card. First I created a base for my snow globe – or I suppose it’s a star globe! I ran a snippet of kraft through my Big Shot with a woodgrain embossing folder, then ran it back through with the die for the globe base. The second run through did flatten the texture out slightly, but it is still there. I adhered it into place with my tape runner.

Initially I wasn’t sure if I would add a sentiment or not. In the end I decided I would, but then had to consider how to add it. Stamping directly wasn’t really feasible as I’d have to stamp onto the textured globe base which has an uneven surface behind it from the foam tape.

Instead I decided I would make a banner. I took a snippet of gold which I cut with the banner die from the same Snow Globe set. I then realised I should have stamped the lines on first… After some fiddling around with my MISTI I managed to get the lines, from the coordinating Snow Globe stamp set, heat embossed in gold.

For the very simple sentiment I used Lawn Fawn’s Claire’s ABCs, whichย just fit inside the banner, and heat embossed with white. I then attached the banner with foam squares for a bit more volume.

Dream Shaker 2

I’m really pleased with how this came together. I think it looks really lovely, and the shaker element works nicely. For some reason it almost puts me in mind of a crystal ball..!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Inkspirational – Photo Inspiration

Perfectly Created Chaos – Texture

Pink & Main – Anything Goes

PS,ย If you’re looking for my photo-a-day series, it has now been moved over to The Joyful Soul. I do hope you’ll follow me there if you don’t already!

18 thoughts on “Dream Shaker

Leave a Reply

