Dino Party

Dino Party

Dinosaurs like to party too, don’t you know! I had so much fun making this card. It’s certainly not as detailed a scene card as some of the wonderful ones I’ve seen around, but I think the simpler scene actually quite suits it.

It was the cloud paper that inspired the whole card. I was looking through my stash of papers and spotted the cloud one. I don’t think I’ve ever used it. It has quite a childish appeal to it. Sort of puts me in mind of Toy Story. I decided I wanted to use it and just had to work out how!

The dinosaurs from Pink & Main’s Dinomite set seemed like a perfect accompaniment.  I started by stamping out the T-Rex and (I think…) Diploducus onto a snippet of coloured paper each. I then added some extra colour with my coloured pencils for a bit more interest. I then fussy cut them.

You may have noticed that my T-Rex looks like his arm is broken – there is unfortunately a defect with my stamp. I emailed Pink & Main about it and got a very speedy reply and an offer of a replacement – another example of their fantastic service!

So. Next I made my hills. I took a patterned paper for my front hill and a solid one for the back. I made the hill shapes very simply using my craft knife. I then played around with my layout and realised I needed another dinosaur! I stamped the little stegosaurus and coloured it in the same way as the other dinosaurs. I also used my white gel pen to colour its tail spikes. I also used the gel pen to enhance the highlights on their eyes.

Then I needed to make my accents. I stamped the present from the stamp set onto some polka dot paper and fussy cut it, colouring the ribbon and bow with my white gel pen. For the hat I used a different patterned paper and again fussy cut it. I was going to add a pompom to the top but my smallest ones were way too big. Instead I added a little dimension with my snow pen. It actually didn’t work properly (I think I did it wrong) but it looks okay anyway so I don’t mind.

At this point I started gluing my scene together. I adhered the sky to a blue card base using my tape runner, then worked out my positioning and adhered the hills in the same way. I then realised I still needed to add my sentiment. I used my MISTI to stamp it with black pigment ink and then heat embossed with clear embossing powder.

I adhered the dinosaurs using liquid glue and added the hat and present in the same way. Then I used my MISTI to position and stamp my balloon so it would look like the T-Rex is holding it. I stamped it again onto a piece of red card and fussy cut the balloon itself to tape over the outline on the card base. I then applied glossy accents all over the red to make it look more balloon-like.

Dino Party 2

I’m really pleased with how this turned out. It’s just so adorable! These stamps are a lot of fun and I’m looking forward to getting more use out of them. Building a scene was fun too. I think I’d like to try to do scene cards more often, and maybe build to doing more intricate ones.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

Pink & Main – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Something New (this is the first time I’d used any of these stamps and indeed the first time I’d used the stamp set, although I’ve already blogged the second card I made with it. I’m fairly sure it’s also the first time I’ve used the cloud paper and possibly the first time I used the green patterned paper, but I’m not completely sure about that!)

 

12 thoughts on “Dino Party

  1. So sweet and cute! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “New Something” Challenge! Awesome details and design! Super work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

