Merry Kissmoose

Merry KissmooseThe first card I shared with you today was a birthday card that looks like a Christmas card. This second one is a Christmas card that, well, doesn’t. Still, it worked out well enough and is pretty much what I had in mind when I went into making it.

I started by making a mask of my moose, which is from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums Pals. I then stamped the moose onto my card base and applied the mask. I also masked off a strip using some post-it tape.

Next I started blending my background. I used both of my Distress Inks (yes, I only have two!) – Seedless Preserves and Spiced Marmalade. I had to be very careful with the blending because purple and orange don’t mix well, and can become very muddy. I concentrated each colour towards their own end of the card, getting paler towards the centre, and applying only a very minimal amount of each. Once I was happy with it all I removed the masks.

I actually had gone over the edge of my mask in a couple of places. I fixed that mistake by putting some beads of water onto the ink I wanted to remove, letting it sit for a little while, then lifting it off with a tissue. Doing so removed the ink almost completely. It’s still visible if you know where to look, but is not obvious.

My next step was to add a kiss to the moose. I took the lip stamp from the same stamp set and stamped it onto my moose with red pigment ink. I used my MISTI so I could stamp multiple times to make sure it was nice and solid as well as wet enough to properly hold my clear embossing powder. I then heat embossed it.

I used watercolour pencils to colour my moose. I applied the colour along the outer edges then blended it in to the centre with water. Whilst the watercolouring dried I added the sentiment, again from the same stamp set, with the help of my MISTI.

As with my previous card, my final touch was some Wink of Stella and Glossy Accents onto the eyes.

Merry Kissmoose 2

I’m quite pleased with how this turned out. I’m really happy with all the colouring, especially the ink blended strip. But I wish I’d remembered to make it more Christmassy… I realised afterwards that I could have added the Santa hat that comes in the set. Husband suggested I just add it on, but I really wanted to keep the card one layer so I didn’t. This will just have to be a very non-traditional Christmas card!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Sweet Stampin’ Christmas – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and optional CAS

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Less Is More – Ombre

Sweet Stampin’ – Something New (This is my first time using these stamps.)

 

18 thoughts on “Merry Kissmoose

  1. I love those chubby chums from PS and you’ve coloured this one perfectly to make a really fun and funky card. Great use of the ombre technique with your seamless blending and thanks for playing along with us at Less is More this week. Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous card, your ink blending is faultless. Had the chubby set for a while but not used it yet, really must do something about that!!
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Less is More, Anita x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

