Just Saying Hello

Just Saying HelloWhen I had the idea for this card I didn’t remember that I’d made a similar one before, about 9 months ago. Comparing the two I definitely prefer this one, but then I’d only been making cards for a few months when I did the previous one, and I’ve definitely improved with time and practice.

Actually, it’s a bit funny. As I said, I had this idea completely independently of the old card. I then was looking to find a white card base. I’m out of them so I was looking through my selection of cards I’m not entirely happy with – I plan to repurpose them to new projects, or work on improving them. Anyway, I found the one I’d made previously and I decided I would have to use that as my card base for this one. So underneath the layer of the card you can see is the old card!

I stamped the Prima Sunrise Sunset stamp onto a snippet of white card and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder. The pattern of the stamp is very intricate, and despite my embossing powder being a detail variety it doesn’t quite get all the details. I think I would need a very fine detail embossing powder to get all the fine details to show properly.

Next I worked on blending in my colours. I definitely took note from the old card for that! Where the old card was stamped in the orange and purple, this one has the colours blended across it. I used Spiced Marmalade and Seedless Preserves, which all this time later are still my only Distress Inks!

Once I was happy with the ink blending I trimmed out the square leaving a small border around the edges.

I moved on to create my sentiment. I have very few die sentiments and very rarely used them, so I decided to use one of them today. This sentiment comes from the Friendship Expressions thinlits. I cut it twice – first from a snippet of black and then a snippet of metallic silver card. Originally I was planning to have the black on top with the silver as a ‘shadow’, but after some playing around (and consulting with Husband!) I decided to have the silver as the top layer. I used my glue pen and adhered the two die cuts together slightly off set from each other.

I wanted to stamp and extra bit of sentiment. I took the “just saying” from Altenew’s Super Script and stamped it in black directly onto the card base. As the white card is somewhat slick and I wanted to avoid smudging I heat embossed the sentiment with clear embossing powder.

Assembling the card was very simple. I used my glue pen again on the back of the die cut sentiment and pressed it into place over my emboss resist diamond. I then used foam tape on the back of the diamond and pressed it down onto the card base.

Just Saying Hello 2I’m pretty pleased with how this card together. I especially like the way the die cut sentiment looks. The stamped part of the sentiment is a bit wonky compared to the square which is slightly annoying, but these things happen!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Hello

City Crafter – Blue Monday (a project to cheer someone up – “just because” cards are a good way to cheer people up, I feel. And the bright colours are quite cheery too!)

Muse – Inspiration Card (the elements I used for my card were the layout, the emboss resist and ink blending techniques, the large sentiment across the centre of the shape, and the smaller sentiment along the edge of the shape.)

Anita’s Muse card

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Be Square (I did tip my square up on its corner, but it’s still a square! And of course the stamp design has more little squares within it too.)

 

20 thoughts on “Just Saying Hello

    1. Yes definitely older family members seem to appreciate them. I also have a number of penpals that I like to send cards out to. (Although I was really bad at writing last year so I’m not sure how many are still willing to exchange letters – some I neglected to reply to for about 6 months which was pretty useless of me, so I fully understand if they no longer want to!)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is stunning! I love your CAS design and the well balanced splash of colour is gorgeous! This will definitely cheer someone up. And ypou sure know how to nail a theme! Thanks so much for joining us at CCCB!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That stamp you used for your emboss resist is beautiful, I love the lace effect. And the colours you’ve used look great together…how have you resisted buying more, I need some of that will power!
    Thanks so much for sharing your take on my card at Muse this week, Anita x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

