Hello Rose

Hello RoseHere’s another rather feminine card. I actually like this much more than the previous one I did. Not sure why!

I started with my pink card base and then looked through my stash for a black and white patterned paper for the central panel. I was hoping to find something with either stripes or dots but don’t have any. Instead I found the pattern you can see and I decided that would work nicely, despite it being off-white rather than white.

I felt like I needed something as a barrier between the patterned paper and the solid. I found some metallic gold card and cut a narrow strip to glue either side of the patterned paper acting as a buffer of sorts between it and the pink.

Next I created my flower. I used a stamp from Altenew’s Brush Art Floral and hunted through my inks to find a pink that was fairly close to the pink of the background. Once the flower was stamped I fussy cut it, leaving a small white border all the way around.

I created my sentiment in the same way as I did on another recent card. I used the “hello” from the Friendship Expressions thinlits. I first cut it in black, then again in the same metallic gold card as my narrow strips. I glued the two die cuts together, off setting them slightly.

I used my tape runner to attach the patterned paper to the card base, then my glue pen to attach the gold strips on either side. The rose I put up on foam tape for a bit of added dimension, and then I used my glue pen again to attach the sentiment in place beside it.

Hello Rose 2

I’m really pleased with how this turned out. I think the elements all came together really nicely. I’m not usually a huge fan of pink but it works really well here.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Hello

Fusion Card Challenge – Sketch/Layout (I only used the sketch this time. Normally I try to use both the sketch and the photo.)

The Card Concept – Pretty Things (photo inspiration – the elements I picked were: the flowers; pink; gold; black and white; hello.)    (Except I missed the deadline… Guess I wrote it down wrong. *sigh*)

 

7 thoughts on “Hello Rose

Leave a Reply

