Love Hearts

Love HeartsThis card was a nice, quick and simple one to make. It still looks effective despite the speed of it though, at least I think so. It’s almost exactly how I imagined it would be when I planned it out in my head. I did make a couple of minor changes along the way though.

I started by creating my card base. I went for black for the card base – most of my bases have been coloured recently as I don’t have any white card that isn’t just snippets.

Speaking of snippets, I took a snippet of red card to create the heart for the main focal point of the card. I die cut it with a Sizzix heart die. I then decided to make it glittery by colouring over the whole thing with Wink of Stella.

I then took a snippet of white and cut it with a Carta Bella die. I cut before stamping the sentiment because the die is solid, but despite my best efforts and using my MISTI the sentiment ended up slightly wonky… The sentiment, incidentally, is from Pink & Main’s Dinomite.

I put glue onto the back of the white banner and adhered it to the front of the card. I then applied foam tape to the back of the heartΒ as well as a small piece to the overhanging part of the banner and stuck that down to the card base. As a final touch I took some little heart gems and adhered three of them around the big heart using my glue pen.

Love Hearts 2I’m really pleased with how this turned out. Red and black always look great together, and the sparkle on the heart adds a great finishing touch. I had originally planned on covering the heart with Glossy Accents but I ended up deciding against it because I felt it wouldn’t really work with the banner being across the heart.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CAS(E) This Sketch – Sketch/Layout

Inspired By All The Little Things – Photo Inspiration (the elements I picked up were: the heart, the colours, the word love)

Muse – Inspiration Card (I actually had the idea for this card before seeing this week’s Muse, but when I saw it I thought this would be a perfect fit! So the elements I fixed were the main focal heart, smaller heart, and to an extent the layout.)

Tracey McNeely's Muse card

Tracey McNeely’s Muse card

The Paper Players – Colour Challenge: black, white and a colour of your choice (I chose red, as you can see!)

 

20 thoughts on “Love Hearts

  1. Very beautiful card and a terrific combination of all the challenges ! I love to do that ! Your red shimmer heart pops up so well on the black card base ! Thanks so much for sharing and for inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the red/black combination; don’t you love it when you create a card and it fits a challenge so perfectly (almost like you planned it that way)?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

