Moonlit Playtime

Moonlit PlaytimeThis card changed a bit as I went along. I had intended to make a slider card but I realised it wasn’t going to work out, and I’d already spent a fair bit of time on it anyway without adding in the time to make it interactive. So trying a slider card will have to wait for another day.

I started by creating my background. I cut down a piece of water colour paper, masked off the bottom as well as a circle towards the centre to be the moon. I then took my Seedless Preserves distress ink and an ink blender to colour the background. I kept it lighter closer to the moon and darker further out. Once I was done I splattered with water to make stars. Some of the splatters bled out a bit (whoops…) which gives an unusual look. Not quite what I was going for, but it works! I also added Wink of Stella onto the moon.

Next I made my grass which was pretty time consuming… last time I did this I told myself I wasn’t going to do it ever again! I must invest in some kind of grass die… Anyway. I dry embossed a piece of dark green cardstock with the grass border from the Tim Holtz Springtime Background and Borders set. I then fussy cut it out. I also cut away the bigger areas between the blades of grass. I did leave some of the smaller ‘gaps’ because even with my craft knife it was quite tricky to get them.

My cat comes from The Greeting Farm’s Purfect Cats. I stamped it onto a snippet of white and coloured with watercolour pencils. I applied the colour to the centre of the cat and then blended it out towards the edges with my Wink of Stella. Doing so allowed the edges of the cat to be lighter, as it would be when the light source is behind it.

The ball is from the same stamp set. I had it leftover from a previous project. I’d die cut it before, and as I had decided to fussy cut the cat I also cut away the white border from the ball. I then played around with how I wanted to position the cat and ball in the grass, and used my glue pen to attach them together once I was happy with it.

I knew I wanted to add a sentiment to the white portion at the bottom of the watercolour panel. I was originally planning on using something from the Purfect Cats stamp set, but seeing the way the card was looking I couldn’t resist adding this sentiment from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums.

When I started to assemble the card I realised it felt like something was missing if I just put the watercolour panel directly against the card base. I decided to add a mat of metallic paper. I was planning on silver but the piece I had left was too small, so I went for gold instead. I actually gutted the gold paper to be economical with using it.

I attached my gold piece to the black card base using some liquid glue. I then used my tape runner on the back of the water panel before adhering it over the gold. Finally I used foam tape on the back of my grass/cat/ball combo and pressed that into place. I then added small dots of Glossy Accents to the cat’s eyes.

Moonlit Playtime 2I’m really pleased with how this turned out. It’s not what I had planned to do – I wanted the cat to slide over to meet the ball, but the positioning wasn’t working – but it worked out nonetheless. Cutting that grass was just as frustrating as I remembered though!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Alphabet Challenge – V for Violet

Farm Fresh Challenge – Anything Goes

TGIF – Sketch/Layout (I did get a bit interpretive with the challenge. The moon represents the circle part of the sketch and the grass is the horizontal strip, which I moved down in relation to the circle compared to the original sketch.)

 

6 thoughts on “Moonlit Playtime

Leave a Reply

