Warm Wishes and Hot Chocolate

Warm Wishes and Hot Chocolate

Today I put together a quick and simple Christmas card. It was nice to make something quick after yesterday’s card taking me quite a while.

I started by folding my card base from a piece of kraft card. I then ran the card base through my Big Shot with my Filigree Circle embossing folder.

Next I played around working out the exact positioning for my stamps. The image is from The Cat’s Pajamas’ Polar Holiday set, and the sentiment is from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages. The sentiment is actually part of a longer one, but I masked it off to just have the bit I wanted. Once I was happy with the positions I stamped everything at once using my MISTI.

Then I got on with colouring. I only have basic colouring pencils, aside from my white Caran d’Ache. I knew the white would work well on the kraft but I was worried that my basic colours wouldn’t work so well. Thankfully it came out fine! I didn’t fuss too much about shading, just stayed fairly basic. I did try to make sure the cup looked rounded by keeping the highlight down the middle. I also added a little light shadow below the plate and saucer to help ground them. I did add hints of brown to the hot chocolate and the biscuits, just enough to differentiate them from the kraft background.

And just to finish off I restamped the label part of the image, to make sure the writing was still properly legible as it was a bit pale after I’d coloured the white over it.

Warm Wishes and Hot Chocolate 2

I’m really pleased with how this turned out. It’s a sweet CAS card. And I like using this embossing folder to highlight my image – I did it once before! – as it helps keep it from looking too plain, at least in my opinion. I feel like maybe I didn’t position the sentiment too well – the left hand side of the card is very empty, but it’s not too bad.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Color Throwdown – Grey, red and kraft (admittedly I only have a little bit of red and grey, but hey… it’s there!)

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Less Is More – One Layer and Favourite Drink (I’ll be honest, I only have one drink-related stamp… so it’s pretty lucky for me that hot chocolate is one of my favourite drinks!)

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Word inspiration (My inspiration is “hot cocoa”!)

18 thoughts on “Warm Wishes and Hot Chocolate

  1. A super stunning and beautiful card here. Great image and colouring and I’m loving the added texture with embossing. Beautifully done and thanks for playing with us at Less is More this week. Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a sweet card! I love the use of Kraft, and the embossed border. Fab colouring too! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

