Blue Christmas

Blue ChristmasI’ve been really happy with the success I’ve had with my card making recently. Today’s card though I’m not quite so sure about. Everything went to plan, it all turned out how I imagined, but I feel like it doesn’t work as well as I had thought.

I started by creating my black panel. I cut a snippet of card with theΒ Studio Square Layers dies from Memory Box. Next I stamped and heat embossed my reindeer which comes from the Docrafts Create Christmas Reindeer set. I then set the panel aside.

Next I was going to cut out a circle but then remembered I had a circular Christmas sentiment die which I had leftover from a previous card, and I decided that would work well.

Taking the small swirl stamp from The Cat’s Pajamas Polar Holiday set I white heat embossed a diagonal strip onto my card base going along behind where the black panel would be. I then stamped the large and small swirls onto a dark blue panel. I had been planning on heat embossing it in white too, but I spent so long fiddling that the ink wasn’t wet enough to hold the powder properly anymore, so I left it as a watermark look instead.

For assembling the card I applied tape runner to the blue panel and pressed it into place, then repeated the process with the black panel. I had considered using foam tape for adding the black panel, but that would have made it difficult to adhere the sentiment circle. I used my glue pen for the sentiment circle.

As a final touch I coloured in the reindeer with my Wink of Stella to add a bit of sparkle.

Blue Christmas 2As I said, I’m not entirely happy with this card. I feel like it lacks cohesion – like I took several different elements and just put them together without them actually being supposed to go together… I couldn’t work out how to fix it though. Maybe it’ll grow on me in time.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: Use a Sentiment

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Merry Monday – Reindeer

Mojo Monday – Sketch/Layout

Moving Along With The Times – Swirls or Curls

Perfectly Created Chaos – Black, White and Your Choice (I went for blue as my third colour)

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Chill Out

 

22 thoughts on “Blue Christmas

  1. You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. I have cards that I’ve created that I love and others not so much. You will always have some that you like better than others. Your card is very pretty. I love the reindeer image and how you added the swirl images around it. Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Cathie β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think a thin black border might work well and then you are keeping within your colour spectrum. I like the card with the flying deer. Thankyou for sharing with us at Perfectly Created Chaos. Hugs ValeryAnne DT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So cute! I love the fact that you chose two different shades of blue for your 3rd color. Thank you so much for joining us at the Perfectly Created Chaos Black, White and 1 color challenge. We hope to see you again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

