Embossed Butterfly Note

Embossed Butterfly NoteI have a second card to share with you today, and I’m much happier with this one. It uses the same layout as the previous card, and has a lovely soft look to it. I did actually have some trouble with this card and went through a couple of different elements before reaching this result.

I started by stamping the butterfly, which is a new one I got at the weekend made by Knorr Prandell. I stamped it onto a snippet of white and sponged over it with Spun Sugar Distress Ink (another new acquisition!) I then took a coloured pencil and added some darker areas to the butterfly before fussy cutting the wing part of the butterfly.

Next I used a circle die to create a base circle. Initially I created a white circle, stamped the butterfly on, and glued on the wings. It was too plain so I tried stamping a leaf in grey but really didn’t like the way it looked. So I changed my plan, carefully peeled the wings away from the circle, and started over. I instead cut a circle from some grey card, stamped the butterfly on, and embossed it with an embossing folder from the Tim Holtz Springtime Background and Border set. I then glued the wings back into place.

The next problem I had was the background. First I tried just using the card base, which I made from pearlised pink. Again it looked too plain. I ran it through an embossing folder but didn’t like it. So I took a new card base from the same pink, and then created a white panel to go over the top of it. And, you guessed it, I felt it looked too plain. I decided to run it through with the same embossing folder as I’d used for the grey circle.

For the strip down the side I was initially planning on adding a strip of blue but that didn’t seem right. Instead I masked off a strip of the white panel, and sponged over it with the same Spun Sugar Distress Ink.

I did use the blue to create the sentiment strip. I stamped on it with one of the sentiments from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel and heat embossed it in white.

At this point I started assembling the card. I used my tape runner on the back of the white panel and pressed it into place on the card base. I then used a little tape runner in the centre of the sentiment strip and pressed it onto my circle. I applied foam tape to the back of the circle and the ends of the sentiment strip and pressed those into position.

As a final touch I added three little jewels onto the grey circle. I went for blue jewels to help tie in the blue of the sentiment strip.

Embossed Butterfly Note 2

Despite all the back and forth with this card I’m really pleased with how it turned out. If I’d known how I would end up doing it I would have made sure that the embossing on the circle would properly line up with the embossing in the background in a kind of spotlighting technique. But it looks fine even if it doesn’t match up.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Butterfly Challenge – Butterfly and J is for Jewels and/or Jade

Inkspirational – Flutter

Moving Along With The Times – Swirls and/or Curls (the embossing folder I used has lots of swirls in its pattern)

My Favorite Things Color Challenge – Coral Crush, Persimmon, Berrylicious, Gravel Gray (I don’t have the actual colours, so I used as close as I could manage.)

My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge – Layout

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Spread Your Wings

Sweet Stampin’ – Dies and Punches (I used a circle die!)

16 thoughts on “Embossed Butterfly Note

  1. You went through a lot of angst in the making of this card but the result is well worth it. I love the soft look you have achieved. The embossing folders are spot on. Thankyou for fluttering by my challenge. Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

