Little Boy Blue

Little Boy BlueIf you follow my blogs you’ll know that I work as a nanny for two little boys. One of the boys, Thing 2, is going to be a big brother soon. The baby is due early next month and will be a little boy. So of course I took the opportunity to make a new baby card!

I’ll be honest, this didn’t turn out exactly as I’d intended, but I like it anyway so never mind.

The onesie stamps are from Reverse Confetti’s Cute as a Button set. This is a new-to-me set, and this card is the first I’ve made with them. New stamps often have issues with ink pooling, and especially if they’re very solid stamps like these are. I made sure to ‘season’ the stamps by rubbing them against my handย to help counter that.

Unfortunately that didn’t help much. No matter how many times I stamped them (and thank goodness for the MISTI!) they just wouldn’t get complete ink coverage. I think actually the problem may be the ink and paper rather than the stamps… But they came out well enough in the end!

With the images done I added my sentiment. I used Lawn Fawn’s Claire’s ABCs and a darker blue to stamp it out.

I was going to adhere the stamped paper directly to my pearlised blue card base but when I laid it out I realised it didn’t look quite right. Instead I added a mat in between (which I gutted, because you can’t tell anyway!) of a dark blue cardstock. Funnily enough the mat is almost the exact same colour as the sentiment! I then adhered the mat and stamped panel to the card base and it was finished.

Little Boy Blue 2As I said I’m very happy with how this turned out, even if it’s not exactly as I’d ended. I do wish that the stamps had stamped with proper coverage though… My original plan was to use the coordinating die and add the middle onesie on foam tape for some dimension. But this way works well enough! I hadn’t planned on it being monochromatic either, but I think it looks good that way.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Less Is More – New Beginnings

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamp Work-It Wednesday – New Product (As I said, the Reverse Confetti stamps are brand new to me – indeed they arrived with my SSS order last week!)

17 thoughts on “Little Boy Blue

  1. What a cute design! The three onesies in a row are really sweet and I love the fun sentiments on them. Using shades of blue gives a really tranquil feeling (one the new parents might be glad of in a while!) and looks very stylish. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t seen these stamps before – they are fab! They are perfect for new baby cards and look great stamped in a row. Thank you for sharing with us at Less is More ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Adorable! Those onesies stamps are the best that I have seen Charlotte and you have really showcased them. The sentiments inside the onesies are just gorgeous. Thank you so much for sharing this with us at Less is More xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

