Cute Winter Walk

Cute Winter WalkI had the idea for this card several days ago and had been itching to get on with making it. I knew it would not be a quick process to create. In fact, part way through the creation I decided that this would not be a card that I’d ever send out – I’m going to keep it as a decoration of sorts. A piece of artwork, I guess. Though it is a card. Actually that was a good decision, because the scene ended up adding a bit too much bulk and now the card doesn’t close quite properly… Whoops?

Cute Winter Walk 2My starting point was the animals for my scene. I took stamps from both Paper Smooches’Β Chubby Chums Pals and Chilly Chums (I considered Chubby Chums too but ended up not using any of them), and used masking to add accessories to them all. I stamped them onto a snippet of white and then took the sheet to work with me to colour and then fussy cut during my break. I kept the colouring fairly simple, aiming to give them all the look of being lit from ahead. I did that partly because I hadn’t yet decided who would go where, so directional shadowing could have complicated matters.

Cute Winter Walk 3The next part of the process was to cut the hills for the background. I took a piece of glitter cardstock and free-handed the slopes using my craft knife. I had to cut two pieces to reach across the full card base (which is a pre-made base) and made sure to match up the slopes where they would meet in the middle. I also took a snippet of pearlised blue card to slip in behind as a little icy area on one end.

Cute Winter Walk 4

Next I worked on the other elements for my scene. The blue vellum clouds came from my box of previously die cut snippets, as did one of the white glitter clouds, and the rest I cut fresh from the same glitter cardstock. They are cut with Lawn Fawn’s Simple Puffy Clouds. The trees, cut with the Impression Obsession Evergreens die, were cut from snippets of some different shades of green. Also, whilst digging through my die cut snippets box I spotted the little umbrella and decided that my bear had to be holding an umbrella. I did cut a new shade for the umbrella from some Christmas themed paper.

With all my elements prepared I got started on gluing together. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid GlueΒ on the back of my hills and the ice sheet and glued them into place. I then attached the clouds, also with Tombow, making sure to hide the adhesive on the vellum clouds behind the white clouds (or in one case behind trees.) I then used my liquid glue to attach the trees in place. I tried to keep the smaller trees towards the back, as well as having the brighter colours further forwards. Next I adhered all the animals into place. The final touch was the umbrella – I used my glue pen for the handle as it’s so tiny, and again my Tombow for the shade of the umbrella.

I then went back in and added a sentiment – I took one of the sentiments from Lawn Fawn’s Merry Messages and stamped it in black.

With the scene done the card was kinda-sorta done. But of course cards are normally decorated on the front! So I decided I had to add something on the front of the card. I took two of the sentiments from Chilly Chums and stamped them in the corner, almost as an invitation to come inside. I heat embossed them in white, along with some swirls which come from The Cat’s Pajamas Polar Holiday. And then the card was actually finally done!

Cute Winter Walk 5I’m really pleased with how this turned out! I love the little scene and it was such fun to make. It’s a fairly simplistic but very cute scene. I’m happy with how the elements came together. I just wish that the bulk hadn’t caused the card to not fold properly – I think it would have been better using a lightweight glitter paper rather than the thick glitter card stock. But it looks good, and that’s the main thing!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Winter Chill

The Alphabet Challenge Blog – W for Winter Walk

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: Use a Sentiment

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Paper Smooches – Cozy

Pixie’s Snippet Playground – Use Snippets

Rudolph Days – Anything Christmas

 

25 thoughts on “Cute Winter Walk

  1. This is a fabulous card, or mantel focal point. I can just see it proudly opened up for everyone’s enjoyment!
    You must have had a love of fun making this..it is a labour of love. I think it you try the lighter weight glitter paper next time, it might work for a card…but in the meantime you have a fabulous decoration.

    Thanks for taking part in the January Rudolph Days Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi,
    what a wonderful card and your scene you have created is really super and fab.
    I can see why it took such a long time to make as there are so many lovely elements in this.
    Thank you for joining the Rudolf Challenge.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. GD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello,Charlotte! What a super cute and creative card. I can tell you put some time into this one. WOW!! I found your card/blog through the challenge over at Paper Smooches, and I’m wishing you the best of luck. I’d love to have you stop by and link up with us any time you can over at Word Art Wednesday. We have fabulous sponsors, and it would be a pleasure to have you link your sweet cards to our challenge. Have a blessed week, I hope you will stop by.
    Karen L
    Word Art Wednesday
    http://www.wordartwednesday.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. Pingback: Black and White Birthday Cat | The Joyful Soul Creates

  5. Wow this is a real work of art, I can understand why you can’t part with it. I am sure it will be a fabulous decoration for years to come.
    Thank you for sharing with us at Alphabet Challenge.
    Crafty hugs
    Lesley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

