Pearlised Birthday Flower

Pearlised Birthday FlowerHere’s the second card I made today. It’s got more colour than the first one! A such a pretty shimmer with the pearlised papers.

I started by cutting out my flower with some pearlised pink cardstock. I used the Sizzix Bigz Flower Layers with Heart Petals die.Β I curled up each of the layers slightly to give some shape to them, then stuck them together with my Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue. I adhered a very small circle of black, punched with a regular hole punch, to the centre of the flower.

Next I took a pearlised green cardstock and die cut some greenery with it from the Spring Greenery Decorative Strip die. I took a circle of white from my snippets folder and worked out how I wanted to arrange the flower and leaves onto it. IΒ adhered the circle to the card base with my tape runner, and then attached the flower and leaves with some more tape runner. Probably should have used liquid glue because I ended up getting the positioning slightly wrong, and liquid glue would have allowed me the wriggle time to correct it… But never mind.

I then realised I hadn’t yet stamped my sentiment… Having the flower in place, given that it has volume, definitely complicated the stamping. The sentiment comes from Altenew’s Super Script. I did my best to curve the sentiment to match the curve of the circle. It was a bit tricky, but I think it ended up close enough. With the card in my MISTI I was able to double stamp to make sure I got a good impression. I also used the magnets to help hold the flower a bit flatter to make it easier to stamp.

Pearlised Birthday Flower 2I’m pleased with how this card turned out. I think the shimmer of the pearlised card makes it very pretty. The colours are quite soft, especially the green , but they do work nicely together.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

CASology – Glisten

Color Throwdown – Colour Palette: Mint Green, Pink and Aqua

Muse – Inspiration Card (the elements I took were the focal flower with two leafy sprigs, the backing circle, and the simple birthday sentiment)

Jenni Murray's Muse card
Jenni Murray’s Muse card

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

 

29 thoughts on “Pearlised Birthday Flower

  1. A vey pretty card in lovely pastel colours – I think you nailed the sentiment!
    Thanks for joining this week’s challenge at Addicted to Stamps and More
    Elaine DT

    Like

  2. Isn’t all that shimmer just wonderful, and really adds to the occasion of this card! It is such a pretty, balanced CAS design, and I love how you have curved the sentiment to suit! I hope it’s on its way to someone special! Thanks so much for sharing with us at CASology this week, Lady Joyful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

