Sweet Little One

Sweet Little OneWhen I initially decided to make a black and white only card with the Cute as a Button stamp set I was a bit worried how I’d make it work. Most of the stamp set is onesies for making a baby card, and baby cards tend to be colourful not black and white. The idea for this card came to me quite suddenly and I got to making it straight away.

I started by trimming down the patterned paper strip. I’m not sure where this patterned paper is from – I got it as part of a random selection of patterned papers from one of my favourite crafty internet shops. I used my tape runner to adhere the patterned paper directly to a black card base.

Next I trimmed down a snippet of white paper (which is annoyingly a different shade of white than the patterned paper, but there’s not much I could do about that!) I stamped the sentiment from Reverse Confetti’s Cute as a Button. I then took the little paw print stamp from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums stamp set and stamped it around the sentiment as a bit of an embellishment.

As the white of the two papers don’t match they didn’t look right directly against each other, so I cut a panel of black slightly larger than the sentiment panel to create a mat for it. I used my Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to attach the sentiment panel to its mat, and then used foam tape on the back and attached it to the card base.

Sweet Little One 2I’m very happy with how this turned out. It’s a simple card and was very easy to put together. I’m pleased I managed to come up with an idea for using this set that’s not a new baby card. Although I suppose a new puppy is a new baby, even if it’s not a human one! Honestly I’m not sure when I would have a chance to use this card, but I like it anyway.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

Double D Challenges – Black and White Only

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Sketch For You To Try – Sketch/Layout (I did leave off the banner part – I’d intended to add one, but then I just couldn’t find a way to make it fit. I think the card works fine without.)

 

18 thoughts on “Sweet Little One

Leave a Reply

