Forever Entwined

Forever EntwinedThis card ended up very different from what I’d imagined going in to it. I had several false starts – my initial idea wasn’t working. The second idea wasn’t working. The third idea? Nope. But when I finally got to this one, it actually came together pretty quickly.

I started (after the false starts) by creating the twine circle. I started just turning it in my hands until I had a little circle. I then put a healthy glob of glue onto the card base, pressed the little circle onto it, then kept adding glue and wrapping the twine around until I had the circle the size I wanted. It took a little while, and was fairly sticky work(!) but it got there eventually.

Next I die cut two hearts of the same size with a Sizzix heart die. One in red and the other in silver.

I wanted to add an arrow going through the heart. I didn’t want silver though as I already had that in the second heart, and I didn’t want black as it might compete with the sentiment too much. I ended up cutting it from a snippet of red and white polka dot card. I think it looks quite sweet, although it does make me think of Minnie Mouse a bit..! The arrow is quite short but I cut it in half to elongate it. I cut a slit in the red heart so that the arrow could actually look like it was piercing through from the back.

The final element was the sentiment, which is from the same die set as the arrow – Carta Bella’s Forever.

Assembly at that point was pretty straightforward. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue for the larger elements, and then my glue pen on the back of the sentiment.

There is actually a circle of shimmer around the outside of the twine too – one of my previous ideas had involved embossing with circle dies and then highlighting them with Wink of Stella. The result was too subtle which is why I changed directions, but the circle is still slightly visible and adds a nice extra touch.

Forever Entwined 2It’s interesting how I can get two very different cards from one starting point. This card got a lot of its inspiration from the same source as my pearlised flower card I shared yesterday, but is a very different end result. I don’t think I’ve really made anything with such a rustic look before, but I quite like it! I think it turned out very nicely.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

CAS On Sunday – Hearts

Daring Cardmakers – I want more… (I chose love – sometimes I feel like I don’t do a good enough job of showing husband how much I love and appreciate him, so that’s what I want more of this year.)

Inkspirational – Polka Dots

Inspired By All The Little Things – Inspiration Photo

Mod Squad Challenge – Show Your Love

Muse – Inspiration Card (elements I used were – red, polka dots, black sentiment, circle, die cut focal image)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

 

 

26 thoughts on “Forever Entwined

Leave a Reply

