Boxes Of Christmas

Boxes of ChristmasI have a bright and fun Christmas card to share today. I think this has an almost children’s book illustration feel to it.

I started by creating my card base from a piece of red cardstock. I then took a piece of white card stock and cut my rectangles from it. I actually used a square die to create the rectangles – first I cut the large squares, then I placed the pieces back into the die to cut them into smaller rectangles with the rounded corners.

Next I did my stamping. All the images come from The Cat’s Pajamas Polar Holiday set. I used my MISTI to get everything lined up, then stamped with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink. I masked off the penguins hat so that I could also stamp some presents balancing there.

I used regular colouring pencils to colour in my images. For the presents I tried to vary the colours for each style, whilst still using a limited colour palette to keep it all tied together. I was also originally planning on colouring the berries on the penguin’s hat red (because holly berries are red) but I knew I wanted the band on the hat red, so I decided to have the berries be white instead. I guess they’re mistletoe berries!

Initially I was planning on adhering all three panels with foam tape, but I decided to vary it. The present and swirl panels are up on foam, whilst the penguin panel is adhered flat to the card base.

To finish off I decided to add a very thin strip of silver mirror card down the right hand side of the card. I also rounded off the corners of the card to match the rounded corners on the panel.

Boxes of Christmas 2This is a bit different from what I would normally make. I do quite like it though. Like I said, it almost looks like it’s taken from a children’s book, and I do like that aspect of that. I probably should have remembered to add some shadow beneath the presents and penguin though to help ground them!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

 

Addicted to Stamps and More – Anything Goes

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas and Optional: No Sentiment

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

My Favorite Things Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Moving Along With The Times – Swirls and/or Curls

TCP Tuesday – Get in Shape (the prompt doesn’t appear to specify that the geometric shapes need to be different, so hopefully three rectangles counts!)

18 thoughts on “Boxes Of Christmas

Leave a Reply

