Birthday Dinosaur

Birthday DinosaurToday I made a sweet and simple dinosaur birthday card, using the no line colouring technique. It was a quick card to make, and I even took the dinosaur to work with me to colour in on my break!

I started by stamping out the dinosaur, which is from Pink and Main’s Dinomite stamp set. I actually stamped two versions, one with black lines and one with a very pale ink for no-line colouring. I wasn’t sure how the no-line version would turn out, hence doing both. In the end I decided I liked the no line version enough to use it, so I fussy cut it out and set it aside.

I kept the scene for my background fairly simple. A piece of white card became my main panel and I used a green hill that was left over in my snippets box. I stamped the balloon, from the same stamp set, onto my background then also stamped it onto some blue mirror card which I fussy cut and glued onto the white panel to give the look of a foil balloon.

For the sentiment I stamped the “RAWR!” in green pigment ink and heat embossed it with clear. I then stamped the remainder of the sentiment in black.

Assembling the card was simply a case of attaching my white panel to the card base with my tape runner, then adding the hill with some foam tape for a little dimension. For the dinosaur I used mostly tape runner but also a couple of little pieces of foam tape behind the areas that would be overhanging the hill.

The final touch was a layer of Glossy Accents over the balloon to make it look more balloon-like.

Birthday Dinosaur 2This card is not perfect. I need more practice with the no-line colouring technique. The ink I used didn’t disappear as completely as I would have liked, so the lines are still visible in places. The fussy cutting is a little bit messy (I really need to get better scissors – I’m still using a pair that I had at school…). But I like it. I’m happy with it. And that’s the most important thing!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge – Let’s Celebrate

CASology – Youth (The card would be good for a ‘youth’, and the dinosaur itself looks quite youthful!)

Less Is More – Balloons

The Paper Players – Sketch/Layout (I was rather interpretive in my take on the sketch, I’ll admit! But I think that it can still be seen.)

 

15 thoughts on “Birthday Dinosaur

  1. This is so fun, and I love your no line colouring! The addition of the balloon really gives an extra pop to the card, and the sentiment is great! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an adorable card. The no-line colouring worked a treat! I’m loving that little dinosaur in blue and purple – it is so sweet. Great idea to add the glossy accents for a bit of extra interest too. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Less is More

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Thought-Of-The-Day: February 4th 2017 | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

