A Catty Valentine’s

A Catty Valentine'sThis card was quite a time-consuming process. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but now that it’s done I would really like to get to bed (it’s late in my time zone!) so I’ll be getting through this post as quickly as possible…

My starting point was the tartan/plaid pattern. As I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it at that point I cut down a piece of watercolour paper to slightly bigger than a normal card front and began painting. I first put down a layer of my palest colour and let it dry. It was too pale, so I added a second layer and let it dry again. I then started adding in the stripes going one direction, alternating between my other three colours. Once I’d covered the paper in the stripes I let it dry again before going back in and adding the perpendicular stripes. I then set it aside to dry again.

Whilst it was drying I spent some time getting my ideas together a bit more for the rest of the card. I decided to use one of my square dies to cut out a panel from the tartan pattern I’d created. I then stamped and clear embossed the large circle cluster of hearts from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving onto the centre of the square.

Next I worked on my two cats. I used both the cats from the Simon Says Stamp Christmas Cats set. I masked off their middles before stamping. I then used my watercolour pencils to colour them in, making the smaller cat represent Lola and the larger cat Sampson. I used the coordinating dies to cut them out.

 

A Catty Valentine's 2

For my sentiment strip I cut down a snippet of black card. I used selective masking to create my sentiment, which came from two different sentiments in The Greeting Farm’s Purfect Cats stamp set. I heat embossed the smaller words in white and the larger in silver. I then added the tiny heart from the Calm and Loving set, in white, to be representative of a full stop.

At this point I began assembly. I used my tape runner to attach the sentiment strip to the grey card base. I then put foam tape on the back of the tartan panel and attached it slightly overlapping the black strip. I used liquid glue to attach the cats. I finished off the front of the card with three little clear/silver heart gems, using one of them to cover up a smudge on the Lola cat.

If you’re familiar with my blogs you’ll know we have a third cat. I didn’t forget Elvis!  I again stamped the larger of the two cats and coloured it to look like Elvis before die cutting it. I stamped a small sentiment from Calm and Loving, heat embossing it in silver, onto the inside of the card and adhered the Elvis cat above it with liquid glue.

A Catty Valentine's 3I’m pretty happy with how this turned out! It really needn’t have taken me so long… If I’d known what I was going to end up doing I could have worked on the sentiment strip and the cats in the times that the tartan was drying. But never mind. It’s done now, and that’s the main thing! I think this makes a really nice masculine Valentine’s card using non-traditional colours. I intend to give it to my husband as being from our cats (I got the idea from a YouTuber and thought it was amusing.) Hopefully he likes it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Wish

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

CAS Watercolour – Love

Cupcake Inspirations – Plaid

MFT Color Challenge – Color Palette (I tried to get my watercolouring for the tartan/plaid as close to these colours as possible, and then used neutrals for the rest of the card.)

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Pets Corner

Uniko Studio – Anything Goes and Optional: Love

 

37 thoughts on “A Catty Valentine’s

  1. This card is so sweet!! I’m amazed at your hand painted tartan … it’s beautiful! I love the little clear embossed hearts above the cats. And great job creating a one-of-a-kind sentiment using different sets. Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Watercolour!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh be still my kitty-loving heart! These are just darling little cats! Great coloring paired up with super cute plaid paper! So glad you were inspired to join our Plaid challenge at Cupcake Inspirations! Hope you will join us again for a new challenge starting tomorrow!
    Debbie, DT Sweeties

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh that cat is so so cuutee and your sentiment so sweet
    again many thanks to joining us at ATSM this time
    how could be you are on all my commenting Number
    amazing
    we should be friend miss Lady
    hugs
    Monika

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These kitties are simply adorable, love their expressions. Another beautiful CAS card and loving the colour combo. Thanks so much for sharing and joining in on the Uniko Challenge. My apologies for my lateness in popping by and commenting. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

