Love Is…

Love Is...

Here is a colourful, (mostly) one layer card that I put together today. I experimented with no line colouring a bit more. I like the technique, but I think the combination of paper and colouring medium I used here made it not work quite as well as it could have!

I started by folding a card base from a trimmed down piece of heavy watercolour paper, as I was planning on using my watercolour pencils. In the end I didn’t need them so the watercolour paper wasn’t really necessary… Then again, I don’t have any white cardΒ at the moment so there wasn’t much choice for the card base as I didn’t want to use a colour.

I then stamped the cat from Paper Smooches’ Chubby Chums with a very pale ink. I masked the cat off and stamped the dog from the same set so that it would look to be just behind the cat. I then masked the dog off too.

I knew I wanted to ink blend my background. I only have a very limited selection of Distress Inks. I used a long post-it to mask off the top part of the card so that I could ink up the floor. I used Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink with a very light hand in order to keep it yellower in tone. I tried to fade the colour out as I got towards the bottom of the card.

Once I was happy with the floor I swapped so that the floor was masked and started working on the walls. I used Spun Sugar as my lightest shade, then Milled Lavender closest to the masked line. When the blend was how I wanted it I put a hexagon stencil over and blended over it again with Seedless Preserves. (And that meant the card used all the Distress Inks I currently own!)

Having finished all the blending I removed all the masks and started colouring the animals. As I said I originally planned on using watercolour pencils but ended up grabbing my regular colouring pencils instead. The very textured paper made it very difficult to get a complete coverage with the colours… The result is not exactly what I wanted, but I guess it’s a style. I suppose the texture gives them a fluffiness. It looks better on the cat than the dog, in my opinion. I did end up colouring over the dog’s ‘arms’ – initially I tried to keep them distinct but it just didn’t look right so I blended it in and now I am imagining that the dog is crouching and the paws you can see are the front paws, which makes it much bigger than the cat!

My sentiment is a combination of a die cut and some heat embossing. First I ran a piece of red card through my Big shot with Tim Holtz’s Sizzix Alphabetical. I was too lazy to get my extended cutting plate out so ran it through once, moved the plates and ran it back. Which would’ve been fine if the card hadn’t shifted in between… Thankfully the letters I needed were still okay. Although the ‘v’ is missing a small piece on one side, and the ‘o’ is actually a zero. But I don’t think it’s obvious! I used my glue pen and attached them a bit higgledy-piggledy to my card.

Then I took my Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs and stamped the rest of my sentiment which I heat embossed in silver. Stamping can be a bit difficult on watercolour paper due to the bumps in the paper. I think I overcompensated though and pressed a bit too hard which made some of the letters come out a bit fatter than they should have. Never mind!

I also added a sentiment from the Chubby Chums set to the inside and heat embossed that in silver too. I forgot to photograph that, but it says “You’re Purrr-fect”.

As a final touch I added a coating of glossy accents to each of the red letters just to help them pop a bit more.

Love Is... 2I’m relatively happy with how this turned out, though I do wish the animals – especially the dog – had coloured up a bit better. I had a lot of trouble with the dog! The cat looks okay but I think the colour is perhaps a bit too close to that of the floor, so it almost gets a bit lost! I’ll be giving this card to my husband for Valentine’s day, and seeing as he always says that my cards “look good” I’m sure he won’t complain!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to CAS – Pets

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Paper Smooches – Love

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Pets Corner

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – The Color of Love

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Simply Made (a one layer card with simple embellishments allowed.)

UnikoΒ – Anything Goes and Optional: Love

24 thoughts on “Love Is…

  1. WOW! This is a technique that I would love to try but I’m too afraid to! LOL! I just don’t know how to color:) FAB card— love your design and the sentiment is perfect:) THANKS so much for joining in the fun- hope you play along with our March challenge that stars tomorrow ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome no line colouring, love the softness of your card and the cute kitties πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing and joining in on the Uniko Challenge. My apologies for coming by and commenting so late. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

