Onnellista Joulua

Onnellista JouluaMost of the Christmas cards we send go internationally – off to England to my friends and family, one to Denmark for a close friend of ours, and some further afield like Canada and the US to my penpals. But there are a few that we give to people here in Finland. Last Christmas I didn’t do a good job of getting the Finnish cards made ahead of time. Well, now I have one ready for this year!

I began by creating my card base from a piece of soft grey cardstock. I stamped the sentiment, from a Stampendous set called “Festive” (which I can’t seem to find a link for), and heat embossed it in gold. I then worked on creating my background pattern.

I started by stamping the candy cane from Art Impressions’ Merriest Christmas Set five times and covered with the same gold embossing powder. Before melting it I stamped the snowflake from the same set five times, as well as the larger snowflake from the Stampendous set, again five times. I covered them with the embossing powder too and heated it up.

At this point I began on colouring. I started with the Art Impressions snowflake, using my white gel pen to fill in colour. I wish I had other gel pens to have done the rest of the colouring – definitely going on my to-buy list. Instead I used colouring pencils to colour my candy cane. I used two different shades of red on the berries just to slightly differentiate them from the red of the candy cane itself.

I decided I wanted to fill out the pattern a bit more – there was still a lot of empty space, and whilst I don’t mind empty space I felt it best to add something. I ended up taking the little bow stamp from Pink & Main’s hOWLidays set and stamping that five times. I also took the smaller snowflake from the Stampendous set and stamped it multiple times to fill in some of the blank areas. I heat embossed them with the same gold. I then coloured the bow with the same green as the holly leaves blended with a lighter green to make it a little different.

As a final touch I added some dots of white gel pen here and there across the card just to add a little extra something to the larger blank spaces. And with that the card was done.

Onnellista Joulua 2I am ridiculously pleased with this card. The colouring actually turned out well enough, though I’d love to see how it looked coloured entirely with gel pens. I think it would really help it pop. In any case, I had a lot of fun making it. I’m really pleased with how the pattern ended out, and I think the colours came together beautifully. I feel like this is a card I’d be happy to recreate, although of course it would end up slightly different each time!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted To Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge – Anything Christmas

Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra – Anything Christmas

Merry Monday – Christmas and The Magic Number 5 (I used five image stamps – three kinds of snowflake, candy cane, and bow – and stamped the larger images five times each!)

Muse: ChristmasVisions – Inspiration Card (Elements I took were – gold, heat embossing, colouring, handmade background. Also the “joy” is represented as “Onnellista Joulua” could be translated as Joyful Christmas – which is also appropriate for this blog!)

Chriss Blagrave's Muse:CV Inspiration card

Chriss Blagrave’s Muse:CV Inspiration card

The Sisterhood of Crafters – Simply Made (a one layer card)

20 thoughts on “Onnellista Joulua

  1. What a gorgeous background you have created! The gold embossing, so perfect and the coloring! Your scattered white touches are a lovely addition to this beauty and you have your first Christmas card! So happy that you played with MCV this month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

