Go Bananas

Go BananasHow many times have I done something for a card, promised myself to never do it again, and ended up doing it? Well, this is one of those times. Last time I fussy cut the monkeys from this stamp set I told myself I wouldn’t do it again because it was so fiddly. And guess what, I did it again. In fact I had to fussy cut it twice to get the layers for this paper piecing!

I started by taking my side fold green card base and, using the narrow vine from The Cat’s Pajamas’ Go Bananas stamp set, stamped down the side in dark green ink.

Then I took a circle of yellow from one of my snippets containers. I took the two banana stamps and used Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink to stamp them repeatedly over the circle to give a pattern. I then used brown ink to stamp the larger of the two monkeys onto the patterned circle.

Next I took a snippet of light brown and a snippet of dark brown card stock and stamped the monkey onto each with the same brown ink. In hindsight I probably should have used black, because the lines of the brown ended up disappearing too much, which made the fussy cutting extremely difficult. It got to the point that I had to guess where the lines were… Thankfully it turned out reasonably well. I also stamped the banana the monkey is holding onto a piece of cream and a piece of yellow card stock and fussy cut those too. Very fiddly!

I used my glue pen to adhere each of the layers of fussy cutting over the original monkey I’d stamped onto the yellow circle. I also took a black pen to add the eye, nostril and mouth to the monkey’s face as they were not showing well enough. I then added in a little subtle shading with some colouring pencils – perhaps a bit too subtle, as it doesn’t seem to show up now…

I cut down a snippet of darker green paper to create my sentiment strip, and stamped one of the sentiments from the same stamp set before heat embossing it in clear for a subtle look. (I guess I was aiming for subtlety in this card, which is odd given how bright it is!)

I used some liquid glue to attach the circle behind the sentiment panel, then put foam tape on the back of both of them to add a bit of dimension. As a final touch I added three yellow gems to help tie the yellow in to the rest of the card.

Go Bananas 2I can’t decide if I like this card… I don’t dislike it exactly. I guess it could make a sweet card for a child. I do feel like it’s missing something though. And I guess the difficulty I had with the fussy cutting could be lowering my opinion of the card overall!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted to Stamps and More – Make Your Mark

Allsorts Challenge – Paper Piecing

Less Is More – Colour Wheel (from this colour wheel I picked the outermost yellow and the two shades of green directly adjacent)

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

TCP Tuesday – Get In Shape (I used a circle, and a rectangle – the sentiment strip. The gems are also circles!)

 

20 thoughts on “Go Bananas

  1. Super fun and totally adorable card. Cheery and delightful colour choices and a perfect idea for our challenge. Thanks for playing along with us in week 1 of our 6th birthday challenge at Less is More. Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes it looks like a very difficult image to fussy cut and paper piece but you have made a lovely job of it.
    Thank you for joining our Paper Piecing challenge this week at Allsorts.

    Kath

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun and cute card! I’m so impressed at your fussy cutting – you must have the patience of a saint! I love the banana background and fresh shades of green and yellow. Great job! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fun and adorable! Such a cute monkey and the tone on tone stamping is great. Ha! We all do those ‘I’m never going to do that agiain’ things more than once, don’t we? Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Less is More xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

