Musical Butterflies

Musical ButterfliesI seem to be really enjoying the more neutral cards lately. I don’t mind pops of colour, but I’ve been much happier with the cards that are more laid back colourwise than the really bright ones. And this card is no exception to that.

I wanted to make something that would use the music note patterned vellum that I had, so that was my starting point. I then hunted through my card bases to find one that would work well with it. I decided on a creamy off-white as it helped the pattern pop best.

Next I took the three butterflies (at least one of which isΒ definitely a fairy, I’m sure) from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus, and stamped them onto the vellum, heat embossing them in gold. Positioning the vellum against the card base I worked out where to stamp each of my clouds of hearts so that they would be behind the butterflies. The hearts come from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving stamp set. I heat stamped them onto the card base, and also added the smaller group of hearts in a couple of places, and heat embossed those in gold too.

I then took a strip of soft brown paper and stamped one of the sentiments from Calm and Loving onto it, again heat embossing in gold.

Originally I had cut the vellum to be the same size as the card base, but I decided to trim it down to have a slight border on each side. I then applied Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to the back side of the vellum, hiding it beneath the thicker lines of the butterflies, and adhered the vellum into place on the card base. I also added a tiny dot of glue from my glue pen to each of the four corners to help hold them in place. Finally I attached the sentiment strip with some foam tape.

Musical Butterflies 2I’m pleased with how this ended up. It’s funny, when it comes to jewellery I would always choose silvery coloured over gold, but with heat embossing it’s the opposite! I love the way the gold looks against the cream and brown shades. The hearts behind the vellum are subtle, but they do add a nice extra something to the card. For a card that was fairly quick and easy to put together, it certainly turned out quite elegantly!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

AAA Cards – Shape Your Love

Butterfly Challenge – Butterflies and U is for Underneath and/or Umber

CAS(E) This Sketch – Sketch/Layout

CAS-ual Fridays – Music to my Ears

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Young at Heart

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – The Color of Love

Sweet Stampin’ – Love is in the Air

Uniko Studios – Anything Goes and Optional: Love

26 thoughts on “Musical Butterflies

  1. I love your idea of the hearts on the card underneath the vellum. A nice take on the theme. Your butterflies look gorgeous in the gold on the vellum. Thsnkyou for fluttering by my challenge Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely beautiful – love this design and your choice of colours. Great take on this week’s theme.
    Thanks so much for playing along this week at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So elegant, love the layering of all the elements and yet you have kept the design clean. The gold embossing of the butterflies is stunning. Thanks so much for sharing and joining in on the Uniko Challenge. My apologies for my lateness in popping by and commenting. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

