Sheep Hero

Sheep HeroThis sweet CAS card was pretty quick to put together. It has quite a young look to it, and would work well perhaps as a card from a child to their parent or teacher, for Valentine’s or just because. Changing up the message on the heart could open it up to other uses too.

My starting point was the sheep, which I stamped on to a snippet of white card then coloured in very simply with some colouring pencils. The sheep comes from Avery Elle’s Hogs and Kisses, and I used the coordinating dies to cut it out once it was all coloured in. I also stamped the message using some letter stamps from Pink and Main which was one of their freebie sets – I thought the font had a childlike look to it which worked well with the style I was going for.

Next I created my background. I trimmed down another snippet of white card to make the panel, then ran it through my Big Shot with the grass embossing folder from the Tim Holtz Springtime Background and Borders set. I used a make up sponge and some green pigment ink to apply a light layer of colour to the resulting grass. I then used blue pigment ink to add some colour to the sky. I added the colour in segments to give the look of a cloudy day.

At this point I assembled the card. I attached the background panel to the card base with foam tape, then used my tape runner to attach the sheep in place. I decided the card still needed a little something more, so I stamped, coloured and cut out one of the chickens from the Hogs and Kisses set, and used my tape runner again to adhere that.

Sheep Hero 2

This is definitely a very simple card. I do like it, though it doesn’t have the wow factor that more complicated cards might have. I think it works well for what it is though. I’m really happy with how the sky and the grass came out – I wasn’t sure how well they would work and am pleasantly surprised with the result.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CASology – Hero

Mod Squad – Texture (heat or dry embossing – I used dry)

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Young at Heart

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Cute

12 thoughts on “Sheep Hero

Leave a Reply

