Rawr, I Love You

Rawr, I Love YouToday I have a card for you that is a sweet framed-up card with a youthful feel. It would work well as a Valentine’s card, or for any time you want to tell someone you love them.

I started by creating my scene. First I cut down a piece of blue paper patterned with clouds. I then created my hills – two from green patterned paper and one from solid green. I used the Scallop Wave Dies from Pink and Main to cut the hills, and purposefully changed up the direction of my patterned paper for each of the patterned hills.

Once I had the background elements of my scene I decided I wanted to create a frame to go around it. I don’t have any frame dies so I created it myself with my paper trimmer. I then ran the resulting frame through my Big Shot with a woodgrain embossing holder.

Next I cut a heart from a snippet of red paper. I built a sentiment from those available in Pink and Main’s Dinomite stamp set and heat embossed them in white. I then took one of the dinosaurs from the same stamp set and stamped it onto a piece of black card. I added shape and dimension to the dinosaur by sponging it with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink to darken the areas I wanted to be in shadow. I also used an orange pencil to colour in the rounded scales(?) at the back of his collar. I used a black and a red colouring pencil to colour the dinosaurs mouth and tongue, and then filled in the horns and the sparkle on the eye with my white gel pen. I then fussy cut the dinosaur (I should get the dies sometime!)

I started assembling the card by attaching my scene layers – the clouds and hills – to one another and then to the card base using my tape runner. I then adhered the frame over top using some foam tape for dimension, and managed to get it a bit wibbly in the process… Oops! I used foam tape on the back of the heart, making sure to leave a channel in the middle so that it could sit across and level with the frame. I adhered the dinosaur in place with some Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue and slipped him in as though he’s coming out from behind the frame. I did have to perform some surgery on his tail to make him fit!

Rawr, I Love You 2

I’m very pleased with how this card came together. I love the bright colours and the youthful look it has. The dinosaurs in this stamp set are really adorable! I do wish I’d done a better job of getting the frame and heart on straight though..!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Paru’s Card Making Challenges – Love

Pink & Main Challenges – Love

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

2 thoughts on “Rawr, I Love You

Leave a Reply

