Amongst The Foliage

Among The FoliageToday’s card doesn’t have any stamping. That’s quite unusual for my cards, though it’s not the first time. I generally don’t like to have cards without sentiments, and as I have very few word dies adding a sentiment usually requires stamping. This time I felt that stamping a sentiment wouldn’t be right for the card, so decided against it.

I started my card by cutting the sprigs of foliage with the Sizzix Spring Greenery Sizzlit. The long snippet of green I used wasn’t quite long enough, so I took a second snippet for one of the pieces (the top one on the card). I later realised that they’re not quite the same colour… But close enough!

I added some paper piercing detail to some of the leaves. I tried to make the choice of leaf fairly random so that there didn’t appear to be a pattern to which were pierced and which weren’t. I don’t have a paper piercing tool so, as with my previous attempt, I just used a needle. I then used my glue pen to attach the four sprigs of greenery to a kraft card base.

Taking a snippet of purple card stock I used a punch to create a butterfly. I didn’t quite like how it looked with the see-through gaps, so I took a couple of snippets of vellum to go in behind the wings. I sponged them with my Seedless Preserves Distress Ink to tint them purple, then adhered them into place.

I used the same purple snippet to die cut my sentiment, which is from the Friendship Expressions Thinlits. I cut it several times and adhered them all together to make a thicker die cut. I then added some highlights with a white gel pen, going over with the Seedless Preserves to dull it back to a light purple rather than bright white.

The die cut and butterfly were both adhered to my cardbase using my glue pen. I then went over the butterfly with my Wink of Stella to add some shimmer. I also coated the die cut word with Glossy Accents to make it really stand out.

Among The Foliage 2I’m reasonably happy with this card.Β The paper piercing worked well, and it was definitely the right choice to do it selectively, as doing all of the leaves would have taken forever! I’m not sure I like how the “highlights” on the hello look… I think it would have been better to leave them, as the Glossy Accents adds a nice shine anyway so it seems a bit redundant.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted To Stamps and More – CAS

Allsorts Challenge Blog – Anything Goes

Butterfly Challenge – Paper Piercing and Fern

Mod Squad – No More White

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout (I only have four ‘strips’ rather than six, as the greenery was too big to fit six on. But the concept is the same.)

Pixie’s Snippets Playground – Use Snippets

 

21 thoughts on “Amongst The Foliage

  1. The partial paper piercing on the leaves works a treat and I’m with you on it looking better random than on every leaf. I don’t have any fancy tools either. I did start to use a ruler to get the spacing but found freehand worked better for me. I love the glossy hello. Great minds think alike as I have some sentiments drying at the moment that have either been glued together to get the thicker layers or glossy accents applied. I managed to turn two over upside down and ruined the effect so had to start again. Good job Im doing them a day early!
    Thankyou for fluttering by my challenge again.. hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great card Charlotte and I do love the shiny ‘Hello’. For paper piecing you can use a Tim Holtz adjustable paper piercer/pokey tool with an old upside down mouse mat behind the card. The beauty of the TH tool is that you can set the length of the ‘needle’ so that all holes are exactly the same. Mind you, yours are perfect anyhow!

    Hugs

    Di xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

