Thanks For Everything

Thanks For EverythingThis card was so much fun to make. I really enjoy playing with these Altenew flowers, and they’re great for practising my colouring. I think I’m improving! I was originally planning on making this a mother’s day card, but I wanted a big, bold sentiment and didn’t have anything that quite fit the bill for mother’s day. So I made it a thank you card instead.

I started by laying out my stamps to work out how I wanted everything arranged. I stamped them onto some scrap paper to check I was happy with it, and then used the scrap paper as a guide to do my actual stamping. I started with the front-most flower, then masked it off before stamping the two either side, and then masked the right most flower in order to stamp the tall flower. All the flowers come from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus stamp set. I also stamped the “thanks” sentiment, which is from Pink & Main’s Thanks To You.

With everything stamped out I removed the masks and started on the colouring. I actually took the card to work with me and coloured it during my break. I used three shades of pencil to colour the flowers themselves – a pale pink, deeper pinkish purple, and a dark purple. I started by applying a layer of the lightest colour to the whole flower (doing one at a time) then worked on individual petals, flicking in the darker colours and trying to give shade and shape as I went. Some of the petals, particular on the flower in the bottom right, were a bit tricky to work out. But I got there in the end! I also used three shades and the flicking method to colour the leaf and stems.

The final touch was to add the remainder of the sentiment. The wording comes from Altenew’s Super Script. I stamped it onto a strip of black and heat embossed in white, then attached it to the card base with some foam tape for a bit of added dimension.

Thanks For Everything 2I’m very happy with this card. I had a lot of fun doing the colouring and am pleased with how it looks. I do think it could have benefited from an even darker colour for the shadows though… I’m hoping to get a set of high quality coloured pencils at some point (I’ve yet to decide between Prismacolor and Polychromos) and I think that might help, as these cheaper pencils don’t seem to be able to give quite the depth of colour I’m after. They do work well enough though!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Allsorts Challenge Blog – Anything Goes

Altenew Inspiration Challenge – Photo Inspiration

Cupcake Inspirations – Chalkboard

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Fantastic Florals

Sweet Stampin’ – Flowers

20 thoughts on “Thanks For Everything

Leave a Reply

