Soft Smile

Soft SmileHere is a second card I made today. I’m surprised I actually managed to make two considering I had an extra long day at work… I guess I’ll just end up going to bed late then!

Anyway. I only had a very vague idea of what I was going to make when I went into this. I knew I wanted a bird, and a frame around it that it was kind of sitting/standing on. I started by creating the frame. I took some corrugated cardboard and die cut it with a couple of hexagon dies. Of course that flattened the corrugations, which was a bit of a duh moment… Never mind.

I then worked out where I wanted to position the frame on my card base and used that as a guide to position the bird. The bird is from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus and I stamped it with MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink.

With some post-it notes I masked off the area that would be outside of the frame. I then put a chevron/zigzag stencil over the top of my card base and softly sponged on Spun Sugar Distress Ink. I didn’t bother masking off the bird – I was just careful to make sure I avoided sponging over it.

After I’d removed the stencil I decided I wanted to use it for the bottom of my card too. I turned the stencil ninety degrees so that the zigzags would be going the other direction, and this time sponged with Milled Lavender Distress Ink. I liked the result, but it looked a bit off where they met. I masked off a section between the two and applied black ink over it to create a dividing line.

Next I created my sentiment. The die cut part comes from the Friendship Expressions Thinlits. I die cut it twice from a piece of pinkish cream card stock and adhered the two together to make it thicker. I stamped the other part of the sentiment, which is from CAS-ual Friday’s Calm and Loving, then adhered the die cut part in place with liquid glue.

I wanted to raise my frame slightly so I used some narrow strips of foam tape to adhere that into place. At this point I realised I hadn’t coloured the bird… Oops! So I just quickly went in with turquoise and grey pencils and added some very soft colouring.

As a final touch I added some Wink of Stella to the “smile”, then coated it with Glossy Accents.

Soft Smile 2I’m pretty pleased with how this ended up. As I was going along I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, but I kept going anyway and I think it did turn out well. Although I probably should have done a bit more with the bird.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

CAS Mix Up – Stamping + Corrugated Cardboard + Your Choice (I chose stenciling)

Daring Cardmakers – Geometric

Double D Challenges – Zig Zag

Mod Squad – Geometric

MFT Sketch Challenge – Sketch/Layout

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

TCP Tuesday – Word Dies

TGIF – Inspiration Image (I of course picked up on the bird imagery, but also the soft colours)

Uniko Studios – Anything Goes

45 thoughts on “Soft Smile

  1. Great design Charlotte! Love how you’ve used the stencil different ways by simply turning it! 😉 So creative and fun. Lots of dimension from the corrugated card frame. Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a great design layout on this – love the hexagon frame using the corrugated cardboard and the sweet bird sitting on it’s base – the chevron stenciling adds nice soft color – Thanks for joining us in the CAS Mix Up Challenge! Julia xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love this card, the idea of turning the stencil to make the zigzags go in a different dirrection would never have occured to me yet it works so very nicely.I also like the idea of using corrugated cardboard to make a very textured frame. Great card filled with many angular lines.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Actually, I like the flattened corrugated card stock. Been wanting to die cut some, too, in order to flatten it. Still has lots of nice texture. And I love the glossy sentiment. All over very pretty! Thanks for sharing with us at Double D!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the soft pink stenciling and the way you did it in each direction, and enclosed part of it inside the frame – great idea to use the corrugated cardboard for the frame. Perfect placement of the bird, standing on the frame. Thanks for joining us at CAS Mix Up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, this card may not have gone as you planned, but it turned out wonderfully. I love the dimension you added to Smile. Thanks so much for joining us again at TCP Tueday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the softness of this and the shimmer of the glossy accents on the smile die cut. Thanks so much for sharing and joining in on the Uniko Challenge. My apologies for coming by and commenting so late. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

