Chalkboard Birthday

Chalkboard BirthdayI made a second card today too. This one is very different from the first! It was fairly quick to throw together. I’m not as happy with it as I could be though…

I started by making myself a stencil using some scrap paper and the Sizzix Alphabetical by Tim Holtz decorative strip. Β I then attached it to a black card base with post-it tape. I watered down some white paint and took a cheap make-up sponge to apply the paint through the stencil until I was happy with the depth of colour. It didn’t need to be too strong, as I was going for a chalkboard look. I think the paint must have been too wet initially because the first area I sponged became a bit splotchy.

After I removed my makeshift stencil and let the paint completely dry I added a sentiment. The sentiment comes from Altenew’s Super ScriptΒ and I heat embossed it in white, purposefully using it to disguise some of the splotchiness. And that was the card completed.

Chalkboard Birthday 2Like I said, I’m not so happy with this one. I like the idea, but it didn’t come together quite how I wanted. I think perhaps it needs something more added to it, but I can’t think what… I’m sure I can salvage this one, I just need to work out what extra element(s) to give it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Cupcake Inspirations – Chalkboard

Less Is More – Alphabet

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

The Paper Players – Sentiment In Focus

22 thoughts on “Chalkboard Birthday

  1. I love the chalky look that your stencilling has created and it is such a great way to incorporate the alphabet in to your design too! Thank you playing along with us at Less is More πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the way the chalkboard effect makes the background on your card look so free and full of movement Charlotte – just like someone started to erase the side of the chalkboard at school. That is a really lovely font on the sentiment too. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Less is More xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the chalkboard effect, so eye catching and a really creative look! Awesome card. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Less is More πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So clever, you’re very creative in how you use your supplies. I really like the simplicity of that black chalkboard look, but sometimes in something a bit funky/edgy like that I like a little shot of something very bright to offset it if it’s feeling unfinished.

    Like

Leave a Reply

