Sweet Baby

Sweet BabyAs my previous new baby card has now been used I figured I should make a new one. It’s good to have at least one in my stash, I feel. I went with more gender neutral colours this time.

I started by picking out all my papers. I found a pale yellow card base in my stash. I cut a panel from a grey patterned paper (which was actually from a Christmas paper pack), a circle sized for the sentiment from yellow, and then a larger circle and rectangular panel from a snippet of grey (that was just big enough) to act as mats.

I’d already picked out Reverse Confetti’s Cute As A Button stamp set to use for my card. I decided to create a soft background for the whole card by stamping the plain baby-grow across the card base repeatedly and heat embossing in clear. I then stamped the sentiment in black ink onto my yellow circle.

Finally I assembled the card by using my tape runner. I did consider raising the sentiment panel with foam tape, but decided that it wasn’t necessary as there is an illusion of volume even without it.

Sweet Baby 2I’m happy with how this card came together. It was fairly quick and simple, and the result is a soft card that I feel works well as a new baby card despite being perhaps somewhat less traditional than a normal new baby card. The patterned paper adds some elegance, and the colour scheme would work well whether the baby is a boy or a girl.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Challenges included:

Addicted To Stamps and More – Photo Inspiration (I was inspired by the baby theme.)

Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge – Use Patterned Paper

Mod Squad Challenge – Geometric

Seven Hills Crafts – Colour Challenge (I went for the grey and yellow palette. And the product I used that is available in the SHC store is the Cute As A Button stamp set.)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

Sketch For You To Try – Sketch/Layout

Stamp Junkies – Striptease (use a strip of patterned paper)

 

16 thoughts on “Sweet Baby

  1. This is so fun and cheerful! I love the subtle shine from the embossed background and the gorgeous scripty sentiment. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Seven Hills Crafts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

